New York City

Is new york city on an island?

User Avatar
Wiki User
June 06, 2011 4:37AM

Yes and no. New York City consists of five boroughs: Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, The Bronx and Staten Island.

Four of these five boroughs are either islands or part of an island: Manhattan and Staten Island are each islands, and Brooklyn and Queens are part of the island known as Long Island.

The remainder of Long Island, while part of New York State, is not part of New York City.

The Bronx is the only New York City borough that is not an island or part of an island, but is attached to the mainland of New York State.

Manhattan is the main borough, where Times Square, Wall Street, the Empire State Building, the Chrysler Building, Ground Zero (the former site of the World Trade Center), Harlem, Central Park, Broadway, Madison Avenue, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center are.

So, the heart of New York City is the Island of Manhattan (which is also the borough of Manhattan). But the five boroughs that together make up New York City are located on three different islands: Manhattan Island, Staten Island, and the western end of Long Island (where Brooklyn and Queens are), and The Bronx, again, is the only borough that is on the mainland.