answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Very few US states allow the emancipation of a minor. Those that do establish laws regulating the act, that being the case each state differs to a certain degree. In some states the minor must have parental permission to file an emancipation petition. In all states that allow the act parents have the right to contest it. Basically the minor must prove to the court that they are gainfully employed and are able to provide themselves with shelter, food, clothing, medical care, education, etc. This does not mean moving in with a friend, a significant other or a relative or using financial public assistance. The minor must also file the petition themselves and pay all court costs and attributing fees. The minor must prove to the satisfaction of the court that they can handle their personal and financial affairs without the need for adult intervention. Put that together with the fact that minors cannot enter into legal contracts. They cannot drop out of school without parental permission. That being the case they could not rent an apartment, buy a car, have utilities (electricity, gas, phone, etc.) installed and so forth and then you should get an idea of just where the petition will end up.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-08-30 22:46:51
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Under what terms will a judge grant emancipation to a 16-year-old?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How can a minor be emancipated under California law.?

Go in front of a judge and request emancipation.


Can a pregnant girl be emancipated in the state of Virginia?

If you are a minor and pregnant that doesn't give emancipation. To be emancipated you need to prove you can support yourself and the baby before a judge. The judge will listen and ask questions to determine income and other factors and grant emancipation or not.


What if a parent refuses consent to be emancipated?

Depends upon the state and what the judge thinks of the situation. If the parents are against it, the judge may still grant emancipation. Or the judge may send the juvenile to a group or foster home.


How do you get out of DSS custody when underage?

It is difficult to get out of DSS custody until you are over age eighteen. It is possible sometimes to have a judge grant a minor emancipation.


How old do you have to be in California to emancipate?

Emancipation is at the discretion of court. The younger you are the less likely the judge will grant an emancipation order. If the child lives in an abusive situation he may be removed from the home and placed in foster care.


Can a 15-year-old be emancipated if they don't get along with their parents?

No. The minimum age for emancipation in the few US states that allow the action is 16. In no state would a judge grant emancipation to a minor on the grounds that he or she did not get along with their parents.


Where do you get a emancipation?

You have to go through a judge at your county court to apply and attempt the emancipation process.


What is the legal age of Emancipation?

Differs from state to state but usually 16-18. Those under that and legally monors need an emancipation order from a judge or parents have to voluntarily sign away rights.


Does the GED grant emancipation for a 16 year old?

No, obtaining a GED does not emancipate you. It may be a factor considered by the judge. And in most cases you cannot take the GED until you reach 18.


Do you need parental consent for emancipation in Illinois?

You don't get emancipated with parental consent the judge decides if you are emancipated or not... * Illinois 'emancipation of mature minors act' states: "No order of complete or partial emancipation may be entered under this Act if there is any objection by the minor, his parents or guardian"


Would a judge grant you emancipation if your mother was an alcoholic and verbally abused you?

It depends on the state and the situation. If you are being abused, they will probably place you in foster care to keep you safe and properly taken care of.


Can a sixteen year old be emancipated in Indiana?

Emancipation is up to the judge. If you can show a clear ability to support yourself and show a reason why you want to be on your own, the judge may grant it. In the few cases I have seen, the judge will grant emancipation where a minor has a criminal complaint, or civil complaint against the parents or foster home. Usually an abusive environment is always cause. Other causes are the minor's desire and ability to follow a career path or educational path that requires relocation. Sometimes one wants to go to a different school. If the parents are OK with that and are willing to provide support, the judge may accept that as well. Usually a minor as young as 14 can file for emancipation. Try this link: http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar35/ The link has the articles regarding emancipation of a minor in Indiana. For a general link for all laws regarding emancipation, start here: http://topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/table_emancipation

People also asked