What age can you leave home in NC?
Legally, in North Carolina, you cannot leave your parent's home until you reach your majority (at age 18). Although, it is true that in some counties in North Carolina, the police will not make you return to your parent's home if you are age 17 and one half years old. (No, I will not name the counties where this holds true.)
18 and up
yes you can if you go through the court system and get emancipated, but in order for that to happen you have to get an apartment, a job, and be able to support yourself. You can also apply for food stamps. lol haha
18 without parental consent.
you have to be 34 years old....... haha losers actually look at this!
There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative… Read More
16 is the legal age that a person can quit school in NC.
No, they are not yet an adult in North Carolina. Until that point, they are the parents' responsibility.
Once they turn 18, they're free to leave.
A nine year old is not considered old enough to be left alone. Most authorities say an 11 or 12 year old can be left alone for a few hours during the day.
take it home and love it
NC General Statutes § 14-318. Exposing children to fire. If any person shall leave any child under the age of eight years locked or otherwise confined in any dwelling, building or enclosure, and go away from such dwelling, building or enclosure without leaving some person of the age of discretion in charge of the same, so as to expose the child to danger by fire, the person so offending shall be guilty of a Class… Read More
What age does a child have to be to move from his parents house in va to girlfriends home in nc without consent?
Any age if the parents give you permission. Otherwise you have to wait until you are an adult at 18.
id say 15 or 16
i think the legal age to move out should be 18
You can leave your home if you are 17 and live in NC depending on the reason for leaving and where you are going to live. If you are going to live with a family member, you can often do this without a judgment from the court system.
Can an non-dependent 18 year old in the home of another be kicked out of that home with no legal ramifications to the home owner in the state of NC?
Im pretty sure u can.
No, the age of emancipation is 18 years old. You cannot leave home unless you have a court order, or married but that will require parental permission.
The age of consent is not 16 in NC. If you move out, you are a runaway. Wait until you are 18.
Eight Years Old! Although the state has no specific laws regarding this issue, the North Carolina fire code (G.S. § 14-318) states that a child under the age of eight shall not be left alone without appropriate supervision due to the risk of danger by fire.
In most states the age of majority is 18, but in some it's higher. For example, in Mississippi anyone under the age of 21 is considered to be a minor. That's why you have to be 21 in MS to get married without parental consent.
18, unless you've been emancipated in some way, such as marriage (which requires parental consent), court order (which is rarely granted), etc.
A seventeen year old may quit school without parental or anyone else's permission in NC. I was horrified to learn this first hand when my 16 year old chose to quit school and I could do nothing to stop him.
18 when you are an adult.
No, in North Carolina they are not yet an adult. Until they are 18, they cannot move out without parental permission.
In NC a minor has to be at least 16 before they can petition for emancipation.
North Carolina laws don't address the question of when a child can babysit siblings. Allowing a child to babysit is left up to the parent's judgment to determine the child's maturity level and ability to supervise children and react accordingly in an emergency.
A child is deemed abandoned in North Carolina if a parent or guardian intentionally leaves a child for any period of time with no set time to come back. When this happens, their rights can be terminated by the courts.
If a 16 year old runs away from their custodial parent in NC to live with their noncustodial parent in WY can they be forced to return home?
It is Important for a child that age to have a choice in who they want to live with. They are old enogh to know what makes them happy in life and to deny that right is wrong.
No you can not.
Nope still a minor until the age of 18, unless you get emancipated, which means you and your family are no longer lawfully related.
At 18, but if the child is out of control or breaking laws they can sometimes be placed in a group home.
If your 18 and live in NC where you can move out at 18 can you move to PA where its 21 and enroll in a high school there without parental consent?
In most states, the legal age is 18. Meaning that you can sign a legally binding contract at 18 years of age. So, you should be able to move anywhere in the US at that age.
see links below
Article 35. Emancipation. § 7B‑3500. Who may petition. Any juvenile who is 16 years of age or older and who has resided in the same county in North Carolina or on federal territory within the boundaries of North Carolina for six months next preceding the filing of the petition may petition the court in that county for a judicial decree of emancipation. (1979, c. 815, s. 1; 1998‑202, s. 6.) See: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByArticle/Chapter_7B/Article_35.html
Make sure you know what you're asking and then define what you mean by "harboring." Depending on the circumstances of the situation the person should be cautious of being charged with "Abduction." At the very least harboirng an underage juvenile could bring a charge of "contributing to the delinquency of a minor."
i am not sure if it is considered a crime or not.. but i know for a fact that if you run away at the age of 16 the cops are not allowed to come pick you up it is actually illegal for them to.
18 when a person becomes an adult. At 18 you can get married, enlist, sign contracts.
The legal age of majority in NC is 18.
There isn't a 'legal' age. It's pretty much whatever the parents want. That if, of course, if you are just watching kids for a family you know. However, if you want to get a job at a child care place, then it depends on the place itself
There is no paperwork. However, the parents may have to co-sign for the place they are going to live in and a minor cannot sign a lease or contract.
You may move out when you are 18, although im not sure if you can move out earlier if your parents are "bad" or anything
Of course not! If the home is not safe, they should contact social services in their country for assistance.
Not without their permission. Until she is 18, she lives where they want her to live.