What are five foods made from staples that are eaten today?
- dried pasta
- dried beans
All plants are parve - meaning they're neither kosher nor treif (non-kosher) and can be eaten by Jews - provided they have been closely examined for insects which are definitely not kosher. As such, wheat is parve and can be eaten. However, this situation becomes a little more complex during Pesach (Passover), when many foods containing wheat are not eaten. Wheat itself can be eaten at this time, but foods labelled chametz - ie, those…
No oats: In addition to bread products containing leaven, there are a few other foods that are not eaten on Pesach. The basic rule is that any product that is leavened may not be eaten, including five grains: wheat, rye, barley, oats, and spelt. Any food or drink that is made from one of these grains or that contains one of these grains, even in very small quantity, is considered chametz.
Five examples of GMO food are: corn soy papayas canola sweet corn Soy and corn have been genetically modified by extracting a gene from one species (often a bacteria) and inserting it into the corn or soy seeds, either for herbicide resistance or to produce a substance in the plant itself that kills insects when the plant is eaten.
Farinaceous foods are foods that have high starch content. "Farinaceous" comes from the Latin word farina, which means flour. The farinaceous food group includes grains, roots, and tubers, whatever will produce a flour/ground meal and contains a lot of starch. Five types of farinaceous foods are rice, sago, tapioca, maize, wheat flour (etc). Five examples of farinaceous dishes are polenta, gnocchi, couscous, rice risotto, or any noodle or pasta dish.