Meteorology and Weather
Rain and Flooding

What are four types of precipitation?



User Avatar
Wiki User

The five major types of precipitation are rain, snow, sleet, hail, and freezing rain.

Rarer forms include graupel (ice attached to snow, or "soft hail") and ground ice (also known as "ice needles" or "diamond dust"), which is ground-level condensation of ice crystals, with or without an associated fog cloud.

Snow, because of its form, provides much less than its volume in liquid water when it melts.