Best Answer

"The Girl Who Drank the Moon" by Kelly Barnhill won the Newbery Medal in 2017 and features elements of dark fantasy and suspense. "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman, which won in 2009, also contains elements of Horror and mystery.

User Avatar


2mo ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are some Newbery Medal winning horror books?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Has RL Stine won a Newbery Medal?

yes, he has one several newberry's for the "Goosebump" series

What are three Newbery Medal winning books and authors?

There have been many winning books. The most recent three to win the Newbery Medal are:2013 - The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate2012 - Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos2011 - Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

What do you call the runners up to the Newbery Medal medal?

The runners-up to the Newbery Medal are called Newbery Honor recipients.

What are all the Newbery Medal and Newbery Honor books?

This link will take you to the American Library Association's site, with a list of the Newbery Medal and Honor books in alphabetical order by title.

How many books receive the Newbery Medal each year?

One book receives the Newbery Medal each year. There may be up to three Newbery Honor books each year.

Who was the newbery named after?

The Newbery Medal is named for John Newbery, an 18th century publisher of children's books.

Is lovely bones a newbery book?

It is not. The Newbery Medal is only awarded to children's books.

Are the Twilight books Newbery Medal winners?

No, they are not even close to being Newbery quality.

How can you get a Newbery medal?

You can win a Newbery Medal by writing a children's book and having it selected by the ALA (American Library Association) panel of voters that choose what books win the Newbery Medal each year.

Where do all of the books for the Newbery Medal have to be published?

All Newbery contenders must be published in the US.

Is the newbery honor better than the Newbery Medal?

Yes because you don't see many books with a newbery honor.

Did Mark Twain write a newbery if he did what was the title?

No. The Newbery Medal is awarded for books published in that year. The first Newbery Medal was awarded in 1922. Mark Twain died in 1910.