Pokemon Diamond Pearl and Platinum
Pokemon Black and White

What are the Pokemon tiers?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-09-03 00:09:57

Pokemon tiers are classes of pokemon, based on potential and usage. The tiers are as follows:

Uber- Pokemon in this tier are deemed too powerful for Overused (OU), or Standard play. Ubers are Arceus, Darkrai, Deoxys (all forms*), Dialga, Garchomp**, Giratina, Groudon, Mewtwo, Mew, Wobbuffet*, Ho-oh, Kyogre, Latias, Latios, Lugia, Palkia, Rayquaza, Shaymin (Sky Form***), and Wobbuffet****).

*Deoxys Speed Form was considered for OU play, due to having balanced stats, but is too good of a lead Pokemon.

**Garchomp can overwhelm the majority of OU teams so it is being considered for the Uber tier.

***Shaymin Land Form suffers a major inferiority complex to Celebi, another OU, but its alternate form is much more powerful.

****Wobbuffet's moveset, ability, and stats make it too deadly for OU play.Shaymin Land Form suffers a major inferiority complex to Celebi, another OU, but its alternate form is much more powerful.

OU- Overused are the most powerful and commonly used Pokemon that aren't Uber. Ex. Blissey, Bronzong, Gyarados, Metagross, Salamence, Skarmory.

Borderline, or BL- Not an actual battling enviroment, Pokemon in this "tier" are too powerful to be Underused, but can't really compete in OU. Ex. Articuno, Charizard, Crobat, Empoleon.

Moderately Used, or MU- The upper tier or Underused. Ex. Absol, Blastiose, Gardevoir, Hitmonchan.

Underused, or UU- This tier inclues Pokemon that aren't strong or popular enough to be in a higher tier. Ex. Altaria, Linoone, Pikachu w/ Light ball.

Never Used, or Nu- Pokemon that aren't good enough to compete even in UU.

User Avatar

Your Answer


Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Are there competitive tiers out for Pokemon Black and White yet?

According to my knowledge, there's no competitive tiers for Black and White currently in progress.

Is there a fourth evolution of Pokemon?

Currently, no Pokemon has four tiers of evolution. Most evolutions only have two tiers. There are Pokemon (most notably eevee) that can be evolved into more than three different Pokemon, but no single Pokemon so far has been allowed to evolve three times or more.

What does BL mean?

In competitive Pokemon battling, Pokemon are separated into "Tiers" or ranks, depending on how powerful they are and their usage, The two main tiers are OU (Over Used) and UU (Under Used), when a Pokemon is not powerful enough to fit into the OU Tier, yet too powerful for the UU Tier it is placed into the BL (Border Line) Tier. For more reading on the subject of tiers I suggest visiting a Pokemon fansite with a competitive battling section.

What is the best Pokemon in all the Pokemon dsgb games?

There are no such things as Best Pokemon. There are tiers, but it depends on personal preference and the ways you train your Pokemon. Of course, there's limits on how far you can train them, like Caterpie, Magikarp, Weedle, etc.

When was Wharton Tiers born?

Wharton Tiers was born in 1953, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA.

What are the three tiers of government?

The three tiers of government are central / federal, state and local.

An ancient galley or vessel with 2 tiers of oars?

A vessel with two tiers of oars was/is a bireme.

How would you use the word tiers in a sentence?

Her dress had spaghetti straps and several tiers of lace.

Can you put 16 inch rims and tiers on a Chevy that has stock 17 inch rims and tiers?


What are the three tiers of government in Nigeria?

Federal, State and Local Governments are the three tiers of government in Nigeria.

How many tiers of hierarchies are state courts generally divided into?

Most state courts are generally divided into 4 tiers hierarchies. The lowest courts within a state are often the top tiers of the hierarchy.

What is the salary for a women's basketball player in Europe?

there are different tiers of girls basketball in europe. What is an average salery for each of the tiers?

Who made tour-tiers?

Tourtierres are meat pies from Quebec originally, now Canada wide and very popular.

How many layers can a wedding cake be?

A wedding cake can be as many layers or tiers as the bride and groom want it to be. Usually lager bottom tiers have 2 layers to them, while higher smaller tiers have only a single layer. The average wedding cake is about 5 to 7 tiers high, feeding 300 to 400 people.

What rhymes with byers?

Tiers (duuu)

What is another word for tiers?


What are the zones of a pond?

they are called tiers

Is this a good pokemon team for the pokemon video game championships in 2012 Torterra and Zekrom and ho oh and Kyogre and mewtwo?

You'll find 4 of those Pokemon are probably on the banned Uber list. Check out Smoogon when their new tiers comes out for Black and White, it'll tell you which Pokemon cannot be used competitively.

What are the three tiers of the federal court system?

There are three tiers to the Federal court system. The first tier is the trial court. The second tier is the appellate court, and the third tier is the United States Supreme court consists of three tiers.

The tiers on the food pyramid are called?


What are the 7 level tiers of a human?


What do the tiers on the wedding cake represent?


Can you put 31 tiers on your tracker with out it rubbing?


How many tiers in wow since cataclysm?

So far (pre-patch 4.3) there are tiers 11 and 12. Patch 4.3 will bring tier 13.

How do you write two thirds in French?

deux tiers