What are the eight levels of biological classification of organisms?

Biological classification is also known as biological taxonomy.

The eight biological taxonomic ranks are listed below from highest (most general) to lowest (most specific):

  1. Domain
  2. Kingdom
  3. PhylumA / DivisionB
  4. Class
  5. Order
  6. Family
  7. Genus
  8. Species

A Phylum is preferred in zoology

B Division is preferred in botany

Please see the related links.