Visayan History

What are the main islands in the Visayas?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2008-10-03 04:57:23
2008-10-03 04:57:23


The main islands of the Visayas are:

* Samar. Samar is the largest island in the Visayas, and the third largest in the Philippines after Luzon and Mindanao. There are three provinces in Samar Island. These are Samar or Western Samar, Eastern Samar and Northern Samar. * Negros. Negros Island is the second largest island in the Visayas. There are two provinces in Negros Island. These are Negros Oriental, which is part of the Central Visayas region, and Negros Occidental, which is part of Western Visayas. * Panay. Panay, the third largest island in the Visayas, is host to the provinces of Iloilo, Antique, Aklan and Capiz. * Leyte. Leyte, the fourth largest island in the Visayas, is host to the provinces of Leyte or Northern Leyte, and Southern Leyte. * Cebu. Cebu is an island province.

* Bohol. Bohol is also an island province.



Related Questions

User Avatar

Luzon is the main island Visayas has smaller and many more islands Mindano is located to the SE of Luzon. (straight East from Visayas)

User Avatar

It has many islands because it is an archipelago. But It has only three main islands Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

User Avatar

There are 3 main islands in the Philippines. The Luzon, Visayas, and the Mindanao.But there is an archipelago composed of approximately 7,107 islands. There are more than 2,773 that been given names.Population of people in these 3 main islands:Luzon ~ 39,500,000Visayas ~ 17.3 Million (As of 2005)Mindanao ~ 21,582,540 (As of 2007)

User Avatar

The Visayas are islands in the Philippines. Manila is the capital of the Philippines.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.