What country in Cyprus in?

Cyprus is not part of any other nation, it is an independent country in it's own right. However, it is a divided nation following the Turkish invasion of 1974, with the Northern half of the island being under Turkish control and the South being mainly Greek. The two sides are seperated by a UN-controlled buffer zone.

Some Greek or Turkish Cypriots want their part of the island to be united with either mainland Greece or mainland Turkey, and to become an integral part of those nations- the Greeks call this 'enosis' which means 'union'.