Asked in
Meditation and Yoga

What is Kriya Yoga?


User Avatar
Wiki User
January 28, 2009 10:31AM

The Outer Tantras are the first three divisions in the ninefold division of practice according to the Nyingma school of Tibetan Buddhism. This system divides the whole of the Buddhist path into three divisions of three and is in contrast to the division of the Sarma, or New Translation schools (Gelug, Kagyu and Sayka) which use a fourfold division. The three divisions of the Outer Tantra correspond to the lower three category of tantras of the New Translation (Sarma) schools. The three divisions of the Outer Tantras are: Kriyayoga Charyayoga Yogatantra As well as being differentiated in terms of emphasis in practice, the three categories of Outer Tantra are also textual categories, with lists of texts assigned to each category; for which see the individual articles for each section. == Kriya Yoga is practice of body, mind & spirit to awaken kundalini shakti, a stage when practitioner attain cosmic consciousness stage, the state of Supreme Consciousness. But need to do regular practice & will take 2-3 years to get target. In health term as a physical practice, Kriya Yoga strengthens the heart and lung, helps cure indigestion and improve appetite. The Three basic technique of Kriya yoga are * Devotion * Introspection * Self-Discipline