Asked in
Judaism
Kosher Food

What is kosher food?

Answer

User Avatar
Wiki User
February 17, 2018 6:34AM

Kosher foods are those that are prepared following the laws of kashrut (Jewish religious dietary law). (Foods that are not kosher are traife.)

The only kosher flesh foods are from animals that chew the cud and have cloven hoofs, such as cattle, sheep, goats, and deer; the hindquarters are rarely used for kosher food because of the difficulty in preparing the cuts without destroying them. The only fish permitted are those with fins and scales; birds of prey and scavengers are not kosher.

Moreover, the animals must be slaughtered according to ritual, without stunning, before the meat can be considered kosher.
The correct word is 'kosher'.

Religiously observant Jews will not eat any food that is not kosher. The core rules of kashrut (dietary laws) are:

* Land animals must have split hooves and chew their cud.

* Fish have to have scales and fins.

* Birds cannot be amongst those listed as forbidden in the Torah and cannot be hunters/scavengers

* Animals must be killed in a specific manner and must be free of all disease

* As much blood as possible must be removed from meat as consumption of blood is forbidden

* Dairy and meat cannot be combined in the same meal and there's a waiting period between eating one then the other.

* Orthodox Jews and some Conservative Jews will not eat certain fruits and vegetables because it's too difficult to guarantee that all bugs have been washed away (cauliflower, asparagus, and the like).

Additionally, food must be prepared and handled following kashrut. Any food that does not meet these requirements cannot be eaten by those who are religiously observant.
Any foods that come from kosher companies.