answersLogoWhite
Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
New York

What is the legal age minor can leave home in new york state?

789

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-01-23 16:52:53

This is not legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Consult the specific laws for the state and county in which you reside for the rules that apply. In most states, any 18 year old is considered an adult and is capable of deciding when and where they reside. They have the ability to contract for housing. SOME states allow minors to become emancipated under specific circumstances, but this is not just a matter of filling out some paperwork. A minor is the responsibility of their parents until such time as they reach the age of majority or are legally emancipated. The parents are required to provide for the support of their minor children. If the parents give permission, the minor can live in another location. Such permission does not relieve the parents of the responsibility to provide support. If the parents do not give permission, the minor can be considered a runaway. Charges may apply to individuals that aid and abet such runaways, particularly if they are under the age of consent. In NY state it is not enforced for 17 year olds that leave home. If you are subject to abuse, you should contact social services for your area. They will assist you in getting out of the bad environment and into a safe place.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Your Answer

Related Questions


There is no legal age for a minor to leave home. They can legally leave home when they are no longer a minor. The age of majority in Indiana is 18.


Technically it is not, because the child is a minor.Another View; The age of the "minor" and the state of residence would have to be known in order to answer.


When they are no longer a minor. Which would be when they turn 18 in Florida.


18 when you are an adult. At 16 you are still a minor.


No, a minor can not do that. You have to be of legal age or emancipated by the court.


Any age if the parents give you permission. Otherwise you have to wait until you are an adult at 18.


The legal age of majority in the state of Georgia is 18 years old. If a minor wants to leave the home before the age of 18, they will need to be emancipated.


When you are no longer a minor, in other words, when you reach 18


18 when they become an adult. A minor can not rent an apartment nor sign contracts.


Much like in the United States, the legal age to leave home in France is eighteen years of age. Anyone under eighteen is still considered a minor in France.


When they are no longer considered a minor. Which would be when they turn 18 in Florida.


yes you can leave home BUT only with parent consent or LEGAL emaciation.


If you live the in US, the age is 18. Being pregnant/giving birth does not emancipate a minor in any state. The minor is still subject to the rules and control of their parents.



No, it is not legal unless their parents allow it. They are not yet an adult.


the legal age to leave a child home is 15yr old


If the minor (key fact) in question is not emancipated and his/her parents are his/her legal guardians, then no. If the minor (key fact) in question is not emancipated and his/her parents are his/her legal guardians, then no.


A minor becomes a legal adult upon reaching their 18th birthday.


I am not a US citizen so I don't know about the state laws of Florida. However, I can tell you for certain that you should not leave a 10 year old child home alone (legal or not!).


yes you can its legal to leave home at 17


When he has reached the legal age of majority in his state.


In the state of Illinois, the legal age to leave a child home alone is 14. Illinois is one of only 13 states that have a latch key law on the books.


I think he can leave the home when he is 18. * The legal age of majority for Florida is 18. The minor is required to remain in the custodial parent's home until that time unless the custody agreement or the court stipulates otherwise.


The legal age of majority for the state of Georgia is 18. The state does not have grounds nor procedure for the emancipation of a minor.


well yes you are but you have to be home before the legal curfue of your state



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.