answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

depends on the number of hours worked

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-09-12 03:54:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Jobs

22 cards

What are transferable skills

What moral obligation does a company have to employees

Why are you applying for the Supervisor position

What percentage of income is an employee required to contribute to the Social Security system

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
4.44
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
9 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the legal break hours supposed to be given to a work employee?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If an employee work 14 or more hours in 1 day how many breaks should the employee get by law?

by law, you are allocated every 5 to 6 hours you must get a break.


How long can an employee work before getting a break?

In the US the standard working day is 8 hours, 40 hours a week.


How many hours can an employer make a nonexempt employee work in Arkansas?

up to 6 with a little break


Which of these is not a basic right under the laws enforced by the EEOC?

employee's have a right to break every two hours


What is the state law pertaining to work breaks in Ohio?

There is no law saying that a work break must be given to those over the age of 18. If a break is shorter than 20 minutes, it is paid. If it is a half hour, the employee must clock out. If someone is under 18, they are required to have a work break after five hours.


You have to work for 10 hours a day with no scheduled breaks is this legal?

Federal law states that after 5 hours you must be given one 15 minute break. If you work 8 hours you must be given another 15 minute break and a 30 minute lunch.


Can you tell and employee theyre not allowed to eat at work when they don't take a lunch break?

If they are given a paid break then they may eat during it, usually 15 minute paid breaks for work longer than 3 hours are required, however for shifts lasting at least five hours and as long as 8 a standard break whether paid or unpaid can be forced upon the employee. You as the employer, however, may give special circumstance that they be allowed to eat while performing the job. In which case they do not have to take an unpaid break if they don't want to. This is to the best of my knowledge in my home state of New Hampshire.


If you work 5 hours a day are you allowed a brake?

Depends... are you actually working when you work? Or are you taking a break while you are supposed to be working?


How do you compute overtime?

The details may vary, depending on the laws of the corresponding jurisdiction, and on what has been agreed upon. But in general, you need to calculate how many hours an employee worked, and subtract, from that, the number of hours he was supposed to work.


Can a part time employee be forced to work full time?

A supervisor can request that an employee work more hours. The employee has the choice to work the hours or resign if that is the choice.


What is the maximum number of hours you can work and still be considered a part-time employee?

The maximum number of work hours is 32 hours for a part-time employee.


How many hours does an employer have to give an employee on work comp for light duty hours?

Normally hours are not specified. It is only the condition of the employee that matters. By law the employer is required to 'return to light duty' the injured employee.

People also asked