What is the tax for California?
There are all sorts of taxes in California:
and hundreds of others.
and hundreds of others.
3 people found this useful
Answer . \nNot directly. California is required to ask Florida's assistance with getting the money owed.\n. \firstname.lastname@example.org
In the San Francisco East Bay (Castro Valley, CA) we pay 8.5 cents on the dollar.
AFAIK, the use tax rate varies by county/city On average it's around 8% (slightly less in some localities, slightly more in others). you can see the rates by locality here: http://www.boe.ca.gov/cgi-bin/rates.cgi
I've gotten mixed answers from the State of California itself. One agent told me 20 years. Another told me that there is no statute of limitations, they can collect it indefinitely. Either way, its a long time. Not a perfect answer, but a start. Usually 4 years from when a return is filed. If …no return is filed, then it's indefinite. ( Full Answer )
California cities are exempt from paying taxes themselves. However,many cities in California have a city tax that residents must payin addition to any other taxes. City tax is often added to thestate sales tax.
Illegal immigrants are not paying taxes because they think they dont need to,also because they are ILLEGAL immigrants so they dont what people to find out that they are illegal immigrants!
No California does not tax life insurance payouts. Life insurancebenefits are tax free in all of the United States.
As an individual: April 15th is the due date to pay your taxes in California. October 15th is the due date to file your taxes in California. If you don't pay by April 15th but file by October 15th, then a penalty of: 5% of balance at April 15th plus .5% each month balance is due MAX is 25% of unpa…id balance If you don't file by October 15th, then a penalty of: 5% of unpaid balance from each month your return is late MAX is 25% of unpaid balance MIN is $100 or 100% of unpaid balance, which ever is greater. On top of that there is interest of 5% (annual) starting from April 15th, it is compounded daily and adjusted twice a year. ( Full Answer )
California no longer has an estate tax to speak of. It was repealed in 2005.
If the service charge that you are charging is mandatory by the provider as part of the cost of the meals or banquet, then yes, in California you charge sales tax on that service charge. This is done whenever the banquet contract, menu, or meal check specifies a set service charge even though the me…mber is told that the amount (such as 18 percent) can be changed up or down. ( Full Answer )
Tax should be applied on a vehicle that is gifted in California depending on the cost. For example the average gift tax is 14,000 in which taxes must be paid.
California no longer collects inheritance tax. This law wasabolished in June of 1982. Any inheritance received is tax free inthis state.
it depends on the price of the home you purchase. the less the appraised value is, the less you pay in taxes. the higher the more money spent on taxes. its safe to say about 1.25% of your home purchase price is due annually. for example a 169k home purchased would be 2112 bucks per year. payable in …2x payments or one lump sum. of course you can save in installmenst and set aside for the lump payment ;) ( Full Answer )
THIS QUESTION HAS BEEN ASKED AND ANSWERED MANY, MANY TIMES AND IS PART OF THE DATABASE. (As a courtesy one is linked here as a "related question").. CORRECTLY USING THE SYSTEM WILL PROVIDE THE ANSWER WITHOUT ANY DELAY, (or requiring inconvenience or action by anyone else).
The property tax in California can vary from year to year. However, to calculate the California property tax for one's home is quite simple. The tax can not exceed more than 1% of the home's value and can not increase more than 2% from the previous year.
No such thing..no maximum on how much money you can make, no max on how much tax you can pay
California has many different kinds of taxes : income taxes sales taxes property taxes cigarette taxes gasoline taxes vehicle taxes many more that I can't think of offhand
'Sources and related links' below has the current rate. It was 7.75% when I checked.
Depending on where you live or where you buy something it is 8%+. Some cities/counties are almost 10% these days.
Personally i think not and is going up i can t eve buy a pair of heals with out paying $20.00 dollars of tax. its so unfair honestly were does it go to? well that's my point of view.
Its all based on the city and county you live in. Contact the assessors office in your city and they will tell you exactly. You can reduce your tax assessed if your property value dropped in recent years. Do not over pay!
Tax can be put on anything. It is really not up to the store or market owner as much as it is to the government.
California does not have an inheritance tax. Only 11 states do have one enacted. Seventeen states have estate taxes, but California does not.
No, California is not one of the fourteen states that levy taxes against Social Security benefits.
Your employer would be the one that could give you the percentage amount that you could use to try and determine the amount that you may bring home after all of the taxes federal and state are withheld from your paycheck.
Yes they can garnish your wages. If it is out of State collections, one of two things has to happen for your wages to be garnished. First, if the company you work for has Nexus in California, your wages are fair play. If the company does not have Nexus in California, the garnishing agency will have …to get an Attorney's General referral for out of State collections. ( Full Answer )
The sales tax rate varies by city in California. 'Sources and related links' below has a list of rates per city.
It depends on the city/county in California. Check out the 'Sources and related links' below for info on the rates there.
An individual must file a return if either their gross income or their adjusted gross income (AGI) was more than the amount defined by law. California residents must consider their total worldwide gross income to determine their filing requirement. Part-Year residents must file a return if th…ey have any income taxable by California (which includes income from all sources while a resident and California source income while a nonresident), and their income from all sources is more than the filing requirement amounts for residents. Nonresidents must file a return if they have any California source income and their income from all sources is more than the filing requirement amounts for residents. Click on the below link do I need to file for a tool to help you determine this. ( Full Answer )
Make your check or money order payable to the "United States Treasury." Do not send cash. You can go to the IRS gov web site and use the search box for 1040V You can click on the below related link for the 1040V payment voucher with the instruction for this purpose.
YES. The below information comes from the RETIREMENTLIVING com website California Property Taxes Property is assessed at 100% of full cash value. The maximum amount of tax on real estate is limited to 1% of the full cash value. Under the homestead program, the first $7,000 of the full value of a… homeowner's dwelling is exempt. The Franchise Tax Board's Homeowner Assistance program, which provided property tax relief to persons who were blind, disabled, or at least 62 years old, and met certain minimum annual income thresholds, has been halted. The state budgets approved for the 2008/2009 and 2009/2010 fiscal years deleted funding for this Homeowner and Renter Assistance Program that once provided cash reimbursement of a portion of the property taxes that residents paid on their home. For more information, call the Franchise Tax Board at 1-800-852-5711, or visit www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/hra/index.shtml . ( Full Answer )
The current state sales tax in California is 7.25%. There is an additional county-level sales tax that gets added to this, depending on the county. You can look up your local rate on the state website: http://www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/pam71.htm
The California Unemployment taxes that employers pay is 3.4% on new employees and ranges from 1.5 to 6.2 % for all others. This is on the employee's first $7,000 wages. More information on this can be found in the Related Link below.
In most (if not all) places in the US and Canada, you are supposed to claim a common-law partner's income on your taxes. Check your state/provincial laws to find out what the minimum cohabitation time is to be considered common-law. If you are not common-law, then no, you should not claim your girlf…riend's income. Also, check to make sure you have to claim their income, as filing separately will often benefit you more on your return (2 lower separate incomes often makes you look poorer than 1 low family income, and the government will give all your taxes back if your under a statutory minimum). ( Full Answer )
To find out more about the inheritance tax limits in California you may want to visit the California's official website. They will have all the tax information on there site.
Property taxes for the first six months of 2012 must be paid by April 10th 2012, If you are late paying, a late fee is added to the bill.
California abolished it's Inheritance Tax in 1982. It cost the state $1 billion in the first year.
Make the check out to Franchise Tax Board. For Individual tax payments, mail to: PO Box 942867, Sacramento, CA 94267-0001 For Business tax payments, mail to: PO Box 942857, Sacramento, CA 94257-0001
Lottery prizes are exempt from California state and local personal income taxes.However, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires the California Lottery to withhold taxes from prizes over $5,000 for U.S.citizens and resident aliens who provide social security numbers on the Lottery Claim Form.The… IRS also requires the Lottery to withhold additional taxes from all prizes of $600 to $5,000 from U.S.citizens and resident aliens who do not provide a social security number.Claimants who do not mark the citizenship status on the Lottery Claim Form will have 30% withheld from all prizes over one dollar.Winners paid in annual installments automatically have taxes withheld from each annual payment.-- ã California L ottery Â® Winners' Handbook ( Full Answer )
No, but there are municipal taxes. As a CA homeowner I pay extra taxes for all sorts of bonds and things that are part of my property tax.
There are actually 4,071 practicing tax lawyers in the state of California and many have excellent ratings. Williams Law Associates out of Sacramento was voted 2013's best Calafornian Tax Litigation law firm. Robert W. Wood, of Wood LLP, was voted the 6th best tax attorney in California. Listings fo…r the best California Tax Attorneys can also be found on Avvo. ( Full Answer )
There are lots of places where someone can find a California Tax preparer. Some of these places include; H&R Block, maximumrefundtax, and the Yellow pages.
There are many places where one can hire a tax lawyer in California. One can hire a tax lawyer in California by visiting popular on the web sources such as Tax Lawyers Group and Bank Rate.
The sales tax in the state of California, which is part of the United States of America, is very high. The sales tax in the state of California is 7.50% but can go as high as 9%.
If one is searching for tax lawyers that you can find in California, they should go online to the "Tax Lawyers" website, where they show lawyers from everywhere offering their services.
Recommended rates for California tax attorneys are less than $300 an hour, but in some parts of California, for example Beverly Hills, that rate may be much higher. Rates for lawyers who help low income clients should be no more than$100 a hour.
The federal tax rate is based on income, and is constant throughoutall states - it's the state tax rate which varies between states.
A franchise tax is a government tax charged byindividual U.S. states to corporations, limited liability companiesand partnerships that have nexus in the state. The franchise feesare based on the net worth or capital held by the entity. Inessence, the franchise tax charges corporations for the privil…egeof doing business in that state. In the state of California, franchise taxesare known as LLC taxes, and they have a minimum tax amount of $800.The franchise tax in California applies to limited liabilitycompanies, S corporations, limited partnerships, traditionalcorporations, and limited liability partnerships. In general the S corporations franchise tax in1.5 percent of the net income with a minimum tax of $800. Forstandard limited liability companies, the franchise tax is rather aflat fee than a percentage, and it varies on total income or grossincome, as follow: . Gross income from $250,000 to $499,999 = $900 fee . Gross income from $500,000 to $999,999 = $2,500 fee + $800 LLCtax . Gross income from $1,000,000 to $4,999,999 = $6,000 fee + $800LLC tax . Gross income from $5,000,000 or more + $11,790 fee + $800 LLCtax ( Full Answer )
Just the same sales tax as on everything else sold in California.However candy is a food and unless the food is intended to beconsumed at the place of sale, sales tax cannot be charged on them.So normally there is no tax on candy as it is normally not eaten atthe place of sale.
The California sales tax rate is currently 6.25% . However,California adds a mandatory local rate of 1.25% that increases thetotal state sales and use tax base to 7.5%. Depending on localmunicipalities, the total tax rate can be as high at 10.0%.