Canada Provinces and Territories

What was the fifth province to join Canada?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-01-13 00:35:12
2012-01-13 00:35:12

The fifth province to join Canada is Manitoba. Manitoba joined in July 15, 1870.


Related Questions

Manitoba was the fifth province to enter Confederation. The Government of Canada created the Province of Manitoba on July 15, 1870.

Manitoba was the 5th province to join Canada. ================================= While Manitoba was the fifth province to "enter Confederation," it was not the fifth province to "join" Canada. To "join" indicates that two prior existing bodies became one. Manitoba did not exist until the Government of Canada created it as a province out of Northwest Territories on July 15, 1870. Therefore, Manitoba did not "join" Canada. The three provinces that originally joined together on July 1, 1867, to create Canada were Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the pre-Confederation Province of Canada. Upon Confederation, the pre-Confederation Province of Canada was severed into the Provinces of Québec and Ontario, but likewise Québec and Ontario did not "join" Canada. The colony of British Columbia was the fourth province to "join" Canada (July 20, 1871) and the fifth province to "join" was Prince Edward Island (July 1, 1873).

Newfoundland joined Canada 1949 and was the last province to join Canada

Manitoba was the fifth province in Canada after the Manitoba Act was passed. It was admitted to the confederation in July 1870.

Manitoba was Canada's fifth official province, joining Confederation on July 15th, 1870.

British Columbia was the sixth province to join Canada, in 1871.

Newfoundland was the last province to join the confederation, doing so in 1949.

The last province to join Canada was Newfoundland in 1949. In 1999 the territory of Nunavut was formed from part of the Northwest Territories, but it does not have provincial status.Newfoundland Labrador was the last province to join confederationin 1949. Nunavut was the last territory to join Canada in 1999.

No, Newfoundland was the last to join, in 1949.

Alberta, Canada's eighth province, did not 'join' Canada. It was created as a province by the Parliament of Canada out of part of the Northwest territories.

Newfoundland and Labouradour was the last province to joing Canada, however the most recent territory to join the country was Nunavut in 1999.

On July 15, 1870, Britain transferred Rupert's Land and the North-western Territory to Canada. On the same date, out of part of Rupert's Land, the Government of Canada created the Province of Manitoba as Canada's fifth province.

Isn't it almost 138 years too late to be asking that question? British Columbia did join Canada. On July 20, 1871, British Columbia became the first colony to join Confederation, thereby becoming Canada's fifth province.

In July 15, 1870, the Manitoba became the fifth province in the Dominion of Canada.

because the political deadlock was making it impossible to do anything in Canada east and Canada west. ================================================================ Technically, Canada East did not join Confederation. Canada East and Canada West were merely geographical designations, not political entities. The pre-Confederation Province of Canada was the political entity that joined Confederation. Immediately upon Confederation, the Province of Canada was divided into the Province of Québec and the Province of Ontario.

Ontario did not "join" Canada. Ontario did not exist prior to Confederation. Ontario was one of the original four provinces of Canada. Prior to Confederation, there was the pre-Confederation self-governing colony called the Province of Canada. It was divided into the Province of Quebec and the Province of Ontario on Confederation.

Newfoundland joined Canada in 1949 as the Province of Newfoundland. It is now known as the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Newfoundland - it joined finally in 1949.Newfoundland and Labrador was the 10th province to join Confederation in 1949.

Manitoba became Canada's fifth province on July 15, 1870.

The tenth province to join Confederation was Newfoundland in 1949. The first Premier of Newfoundland Joey Smallwood use to say that's when Canada joined Newfoundland.

Newfoundland was declared a province of Canada on March 31st, 1949.

Newfoundland (now Newfoundland and Labrador) became Canada's tenth province on March 31, 1949. Newfoundland and Labrador is the most recent province to join Canada.

Saskatchewan did not 'join' Confederation. It was created as a province out of the Northwest Territories by the Government of Canada. Saskatchewan became a province on September 1, 1905.

Prince Edward Island joined Canada in 1873 as a province.

They wanted to join Canada because: ~they wanted Canada to pay for the colonies debts. ~they wanted Canada to make payments to the new province every year.they wanted to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.