What were the first teams in Major League Baseball?

The first league that is now considered a "major" league was the "National League," founded in 1876. The "National Association" that operated between 1871 and 1875 is not considered by a majority of historians to have been "major," although it did consist of the best teams of its time. The problem is that the "league" had no central authority on scheduling, location of teams, or even rules -- it was more like a group of teams that would play exhibition games whenever it suited their fancy.

The original teams of the NL were located in the cities of Chicago, Philadelphia, Boston, Hartford, New York, Saint Louis, Cincinati, and Louisville.