Computer History

Where are the locations of the five original NSF-financed supercomputers?



User Avatar
Wiki User

In 1985, the NSF began funding the creation of five new supercomputer centers:

  1. the John von Neumann Center at Princeton University,
  2. the San Diego Supercomputer Center on the campus of the University of California at San Diego,
  3. the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
  4. the Cornell Theory Center at Cornell University and
  5. the Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center.

The NSFNet connected these five centers and allowed access to their supercomputers over the network at no cost.