Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-01-26 22:47:31

Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are often called terrestrial planets.


Related Questions

planets that are inside the asteroid belt

The first four planets are often lumped together into the category of "inner" or "terrestrial" planets:MercuryVenusEarthMarsThe last four are often lumped together into the category of "outer" or "gas giant" planets:JupiterSaturnUranusNeptuneAll of the dwarf planets are terrestrial. The only dwarf planet that can sometimes be called an "inner planet" is Ceres, which orbits between Mars and Jupiter.

The inner plants are often called the Terrestrial planets because they are small, dense and have rocky surfaces.

The inner planets are known as terrestrial planets, because you can stand on them and they have a solid surface. The inner planets are: * Mercury * Venus * Earth; and * Mars

Mercury, Venus, Earth, & Mars because they are the fourth closest to the sun

The four inner, rocky planets are also known as the terrestrial planets. These are; Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars.

The diameter of a terrestrial and jovian planets are comparable in the sense that the objects orbiting on a terrestrial level are often much bigger than those of jovian planets.

I think of the word terrestrial as referring specifically to the earth. But in the context of your question I think you are referring to a rocky planet as opposed to a gas giant. Venus is a rocky planet, or terrestrial to use your term. There are 4 rocky planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. Don't let the water on the Earth confuse you with the term rocky. The water is extremely shallow in astronomical dimensions. The gas planets, often called gas giants, are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Pluto is no longer considered a planet and I do not know which category it would fall into.

The cores of jovian planets are very similar to terrestrial ones. Jovian planets are simply a more evolved form of terrestrial planet contrary to popular perception. Jovian planets often have a lot of hydrogen, helium, methane, and/or volatile ices to make up its atmosphere to the point where oceans of these components cover the terrestrial core and billow the atmosphere to large proportions. Terrestrial planets absorbed less of these components from the leftover solar nebula leaving only the rocky surface and maybe some gas of an atmosphere.

There is only one Jovian planet - Jupiter, and only one terrestrial planet - Earth. Your question makes no sense. Planets are categorised as being "rocky" - Mercury Venus Earth Mars, "gaseous" the gas giants Jupiter and Saturn, and "icy" the ice giants Uranus and Neptune. Jovian refers to the Jupiter and its moons. Terrestrial refers to Earth and is moon. A different viewpoint: In fact the gas giants are sometimes referred to as the "Jovian planets". Also, the inner, rocky planets are often called the "terrestrial planets". As regards the "shared characteristic", there are several possible answers. For example, they all revolve around the Sun in the same direction and in roughly the same orbital plane. The terrestrial planets are rocky and the Jovian planets probably have rocky cores, but this is not known for certain.

Gaseous planets are often significantly more massive than terrestrial planets. They are not primarily composed of solid rock, as terrestrial planets are, and instead consist of particles of water, hydrogen, and helium. Gaseous planets also lack a atmosphere, as the gas merely thins farther away from the gravitational hold of the center. Alternatively, one could say that gas giants are almost entirely composed of an atmosphere for a dense, small, or sometimes almost nonexistent core.

Uranus is often called an ice giant. The atmosphere is mostly hydrogen and helium. But it also contains water, ammonia, and methane in icy forms. The interior is mostly ices and rock. It doesn't fit the definition of either but it is a subgroup of the gaseous planets.

NASA calls them "free floating planets", and suspects that there may be more of them than there are stars! Science fiction writers have often used the term "rogue planets".

Asteroids. Sometimes Dwarf planets are called minor planets also.

Jupitar is a planet that is completely isolated in outer space. No planets surround it. Often, people confuse it for a planet that is a part of our solar system, but it is not.

the planet that is often called the planetary twin is Neptune, because of it's resemblance of the planet Uranus.

Neptune is often referredto as the eighth planet, since it is the eighth in line from the sun - the furthest out of all eight planets. There are seven planets which are closer.

It is called so because the two planets are next to one another in the solar system and because they are similar in size and mass.

The planet Mars is often called the Red Planet.

The planets are often grouped as the "inner planets" and the "outer planets" or as the "rocky planets" and the "gas giants." The inner planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. The outer planets are Saturn, Jupiter, and Uranus. (Pluto was an "outer planets" until it was redefined as a planetoid. Now that Pluto is not considered to be a planet, the outer planets are the same as the gas giants, and the inner planets are the same as the rocky planets. (Pluto was thought to be a rocky planet, or, at least, not a gas giant.

Venus and Earth. They are often called brother planets.

Saturn is often called the ringed planet because it has more rings than any other planet in the solar system, and they are the most visible.

The planet that is often called the evening star is venus.

meteoroids are often called a "snowball in space"

When Venus is seen in the western sky the planet is often called the evening star.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.