Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2016-03-17 17:33:44
2016-03-17 17:33:44

You may be thinking of the Weddell Seal or the Leopard Seal.


Related Questions

Yes. There are a handful of seal species in Antarctic waters, from your standard fur seal to the aggressive leopard seals.

The Weddell seal survives in Antarctic waters, since the liquid marine environment is its natural habitat.

The elephant seal is the largest carnivore on Earth. There are two types of elephant seals: Northern elephant seal and Southern elephant seal. The Southern elephant seal lives in sub-Antarctic and Antarctic waters. The Northern elephant seal lives near California and Baja California.

Weddell seals and Leopard seals are both common in Antarctic waters.

Antarctic fur seal was created in 1875.

a seal that lives in the Antarctic

The Antarctic fur seal IS endangered and its up to us to stop it

The Leopard Seal lives in the Antarctic. It is found typically in the Southern part of Antarctic along the coast.

yes, they are the earless seals,they are the only seals that hunt penguins.The leopard seal (Hydrurga leptonyx), also referred to as the sea leopard, is the second largest species of seal in the Antarctic (after the southern elephant seal).

The Weddell Seal, Leopard Seal, and Orca are the main predators of the Antarctic Cod.

they live in ussally Antarctic or the sub-antactic waters they like to stay coldThe Leopard Seal is most common in the southern hemisphere along the coast of Antarctica and on most sub Antarctic islands.

there are 7 species of seal. the harp seal, the bearded seal, the spotted seal the ringed seal aiii nvm

All seal babies are called pups.

A crabeater seal is a slender, gray Antarctic seal that mainly feeds on krill. It is not considered as an endangered species, although commercial seal hunting is banned in the Antarctic region.

Leopard Seals eat the Antarctic Fur Seals pups.

The only mammals which live in and around Antarctica are marine mammals.They include seals such as the Southern Elephant seal, Crabeater, Antarctic Fur, Leopard, Ross and Weddell seals.Whales known to frequent the Antarctic waters include the Blue whale, Fin, Humpback, Minke, Orca, Southern Right, Sei and Sperm whales.

Sea mammals that live in the waters around New Zealand are:New Zealand fur sealSouthern elephant sealNew Zealand sea lionshort beaked common dolphindusky dolphinhector's dolphinmaui dolphinorcabeaked whaleBryde's whalepilot whalesperm whalepygmy sperm whalesouthern right whalehumpback whale.The following have also been sighted in New Zealand waters:leopard sealsub-Antarctic fur sealAntarctic fur sealWeddel sealRoss sealCrabeater sealFraser's dolphinRisso's dolphinrough-toothed dolphinstriped dolphinhourglass dolphinspectacled porpoisesouthern right whale dolphin.spotted dolphinmelon-headed whalefalse killer whaleblue whalefin whalesei whaleminke whale,pygmy blue whalepygmy right whale.

Antarctic fur seals typically feed on krill, squid and fish.

Most true seal species fall into one of three geographical groups: northern, antarctic, and warm-water species. Nearly all are marine, but the Baykal seal (Pusa siberica) is confined to the freshwater Lake Baykal of Siberia, and the Caspian seal (P. caspica) to the brackish Caspian Sea. In addition several populations of the normally marine harbor seals and ringed seals are found in freshwater lakes. The northern seals include two species of temperate coastal waters: the common seal, or harbor seal, of the N Atlantic and N Pacific, and the larger gray seal of the N Atlantic. The former is the only seal frequently seen off U.S. coasts. The Greenland seal, or harp seal, is found in the arctic Atlantic; the ribbon seal in the arctic Pacific. The small ringed seal and the larger bearded seal are circumpolar arctic species. Antarctic seals include the voracious leopard seal, which feeds on penguins and other sea birds, and the Ross, Weddell, and crabeater seals. The warm-water seals are the Mediterranean, Caribbean, and Hawaiian species of monk seal. A fourth group includes the elephant seal and hooded seal. There are two elephant seal species, one of the Northern and one of the Southern Hemisphere. They are distinguished by their immense size and trunklike snouts. The hooded seal, distinguished by an inflatable bladder over the snout, is found in the arctic Atlantic.Source:

There are no land mammals in Antarctica. The only mammals are the marine mammals, such as certain species of seals, e.g. the Southern Elephant seal, Crabeater, Antarctic Fur, Leopard, Ross and Weddell seals. Whales known to frequent the Antarctic waters include the Blue whale, Fin, Humpback, Minke, Orca, Southern Right, Sei and Sperm whales.

They eat penguins,fish and Krill.

You may be thinking of a skua, or a seal.

The average lifespan of an Antarctic fur seal is between 12 to 30 years in the wild, with the average being around 20. Females generally live several years longer than males.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.