Political Office Holders

Who was the President of Georgia in 2009?

User Avatar
Wiki User
April 30, 2012 4:06PM

Mikheil Saakashvili was the President of Georgia in 2009.

He became the 3rd President of Georgia in the aftermath of the

bloodless Rose Revolution where previous president Eduard

Shevardnadze was forced to resign. After receiving 96% of the vote,

he took over from acting president Nino Burjanadze on 2004 January

25. Anti-government demonstrations forced him to call early

elections for the January of 2008, where he was again re-elected.

Burjanadze was again called to be acting president from 2007

November 25 until 2008 January 20. Conflict broke out that year

with Russia in the South Ossetia war of 2008. Tensions remain high

in this area. Lately, Saakashvili has also been troubled with

protests against the government, and waning public support.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.