Asked in
American Football History
National Football League (NFL)
Mergers and Acquisitions

Who were the AFC NFL charter teams?


User Avatar
Wiki User
January 18, 2008 9:43PM

The NFL began an NFC and AFC in the 1970 season. The three NFL teams that 'moved' to the AFC were the Baltimore Colts, Pittsburgh Steelers, and Cleveland Browns.

AFC East: Baltimore Colts

Miami Dolphins

New York Jets

Buffalo Bills

Boston Patriots

AFC Central: Cincinnati Bengals

Cleveland Browns

Pittsburgh Steelers

Houston Oilers

AFC West: Oakland Raiders

Kansas City Chiefs

San Diego Chargers

Denver Broncos