• Founding Fathers
  • History of the United States
  • US Constitution

Who wrote the US Constitution?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2018-01-09 03:07:55

Best Answer

A man named Governor Morris of Pennsylvania was in charge of the committee to draft the final copy of the Constitution. Other men who had much to do with writing the Constitution included John Dickinson, Governor Morris, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Thomas Paine, Edmund Randolph, James Madison, Roger Sherman, James Wilson, and George Wythe. Morris was given the task of putting all the convention's resolutions and decisions into polished form. Morris actually "wrote" the Constitution. The original copy of the document is preserved in the National Archives Building in Washington, D.C.

Jacob Shallus who, at the time, was assistant clerk of the Pennsylvania State Assembly, and whose office was in the same building in which the Convention was held, was given the task of engrossing the Constitution prior to its being signed.

Here is more input from other WikiAnswers contributors:

  • The U.S. Constitution is the work of several men, directly and indirectly. The three most notable persons whose work influenced the Constitution but who were not involved in its writing are Thomas Jefferson, John Adams and Thomas Paine. The group of men involved in the writing of the Constitution are generally referred to as the "framers".
  • No single individual wrote it. Twelve of the thirteen states sent delegates to the Constitutional Convention to revise the Articles of Confederation and the entire convention worked on it. After the political questions were hashed out a 'committee of style' was formed to put the ideas into formal words. It is generally accepted that Governor Morris created most of the actual wording included in the final draft from the Committee of Style.
  • The original copy of the document is preserved in the National Archives Building in Washington, D.C.
  • The person most associated with authoring the US Constitution was James Madison, the fourth President of the United States. Primary Author: James Madison (drafted the Virginia Plan). He is known as "The Father of the Constitution." James Madison wrote the Constitution in 1787. The constitution wasn't passed until 1788.

The US Constitution was written by the members of the Constitutional Convention.
2018-01-09 03:07:55
This answer is:
User Avatar

Your Answer


Related Questions

Who wrote the constitution of indapendence of the US?

Who wrote the Constitution of the United states

Was the US Constitution wrote in 1774?


What year was the US Constitution wrote?


When was the constitution of the us wrote?

The final draft of the unamended US Constitution was written on September 17, 1787.

Who was the Georgia signer of the US Constitution that wrote the GA Constitution?

Abraham Baldwin

What is the framers in us history?

The founding fathers who wrote the US constitution.

How many people wrote the US Constitution?


Who wrote the Us first constitution?

James Madison

Who wrote much of the US Constitution?

James Madison

How did James Madison's beliefs contribute to the US Constitution?

James Madison Wrote the Constitution

What role did James Madison play in the US Constitution?

He wrote the rough draft of the constitution.

Who was the US Constitution written by?

Thomas Jefferson was the person who wrote the US ConstitutionJames Maddison is the father of the Constitution. He wrote it down. Thomas Jefferson was not even at the Constitutional Convention. He was in Paris, France at the time it was written.

In 1787 represetnatives of the US States met in Philadelphia and wrote?

The US Constitution.

What did Joesph Greeler do in 1874?

Wrote a song for the US Constitution.

Who wrote the final draft of the US Constitution?

AnswerGouverneur Morris

How did James Madison contribute to forming the US?

He wrote the Constitution.

Who wrote the 24th Amendment to the US Constitution?

Tomas Jefferson

Who wrote more of the US Constitution Adams or Jefferson?


Who led the delegates who wrote the US Constitution?

Benjamin Franklin

Who wrote the original draft of the US Constitution?

Thomas Sickman

Who wrote the 12TH amendment in the US Constitution?

Thomas Jefferson

What best explains original intent concerning the US Constitution?

What the framers wanted when they wrote the constitution

Why was the US Constitution needed in the first place?

greg marsch wrote it! greg marsch wrote it!

What famous documents did George Washington write?

he wrote the us constitution

Who wrote the first seven articles of the US Constitution?

James Madison