New Testament

Why is the New Testament called the New Testament?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2013-09-16 23:40:40
2013-09-16 23:40:40

It is called the New Testament because it was written after the Old Testament and tells of the new "testament" which means covenant or agreement between God and man. The old testament or covenant with Moses was fulfilled in Christ and this is the story of the New testament.

User Avatar

Related Questions

It is called the new Testament.

Yes, there is a book in the New Testament called "Hebrews"

No. The Bible consists of the Old and New Testament.

The word "Testament" means - agreement, covenant. So the New Testament can also be called the New Covenant.

The four books in the new testament are called book of the gospels.

The Old Testament and The New Testament.

Matthew is the first book in the new testament.

The Bible is called testaments because there is 2 different testaments the new testament and the old testament the new testament is after Jesus was born and the old testament was before Jesus was born.

The last book in the new testament is called Revelations , it is written by John.

The first book in the new testament is called Gospel of Matthew.

The Old Testament and the New Testament

The Old Testament andThe New Testament.

Jesus is Called the Son of Man 88 Times in the New Testament!

It is called the Book of Revelation.

There are four gospel books in the new testament, they are Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.

The first four books of the New Testament Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are called the gospels

In the Christian Bible the two main sections are the Old Testament and the New Testament.

You can find it in the part of the Bible called the New Testament. The first book in the New Testament is called Matthew, the story of Jesus' birth is in Matthew

In the Old Testament, these stories are called examples to us; and in the New Testament, they are called parables.

Yes. The Acts of the Apostles are found in the New Testament after the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

The four Gospels of the New Testament are entitled, "The Gospel according to Matthew." Mark." Luke." John."

If you are referring to the manuscripts of the writings of the Apostles and some disciples, these eventually became known as the New Testament.

You mean the New Testament? The Christian bible is separated into two sections: The Old Testament = Before Jesus was born The New Testament = After Jesus was born

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.