Why were there 2 Korea in noreth Korea?

Korea is divided into 2 sections.
north Korea and south Korea.
they speak the same language, Korean, and they have the same ancestors.
it was divided after their independence from japan.

north Koreans are communists and south Korea's political view is democracy.