Best Answer

In the United States, an independent city is a city that does not belong to any county. There are 42 throughout the country, 39 of them in Virginia.

The Virginian independent cities are Alexandria, Bedford, Bristol, Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Chesapeake, Colonial Heights, Covington, Danville, Emporia, Fairfax, Falls Church, Franklin, Fredericksburg, Galax, Hampton, Harrisonburg, Hopewell, Lexington, Lynchburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Martinsville, Newport News, Norfolk, Norton, Petersburg, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Radford, Richmond, Roanoke, Salem, Staunton, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Waynesboro, Williamsburg, and Winchester.

The other independent cities outside of Virginia are Baltimore, St. Louis and Carson City.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are the independent cities in America?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions