Best Answer

During the US Civil War, the Southern States of the Confederacy, consisted of 11 slave states. Union States of Maryland, Missouri, Delaware and the city of Washington DC also had slaves until the 13th Amendment to the US Constitution abolished slavery in the United States. The 11 Southern States were:

1. Texas 2. Louisiana 3. Mississippi 4. Alabama 5. Florida 6. Georgia 7. Tennessee

8. South Carolina 9. North Carolina 10. Virginia 11. Arkansas

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What were the 11 Confederate slave states the US Civil War?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Was Delaware part of the confederate state during US Civil War?

No. It was one of the buffer-states - slave-states that did not vote Confederate.

What was the economy in the Confederate states based on during the civil war?

For the most part the war, farming, and slave trade.

Who were the confederate soldiers in the US Civil War?

The ones fighting for the South - the cotton-growing slave-states.

What is a war between states?

The war between the states was The American Civil War. It was fought from 1861 to 1865 because seven Southern slave states formed the Confederate States of America.

What are the Union states of the Civil War?

All the free states, plus four slave-states that did not vote Confederate and chose to stay loyal.

Did the slave states of the south have the right to leave the union and create the confederate states of America?

The Civil War was fought to establish that point.

What does succession mean during the civil war?

It means the act that the Confederate slave states did when they left the Union. They Seceded.

During the civil war where was the capital of the confederate states?

Richmond was the capital of the Confederate States of America during the Civil War.

Union means north or south during the civil war?

The Union in the American Civil War represented the free states (meaning slave-free states) plus five border slave states in the north of America. The Confederate States of America (the Confederacy) comprised the eleven southern slave states which had seceded from the United States of America.

What was the two sides fighting for in the Civil War?

Union fought to free slaves, Confederate fought to stay slave states.

Who was the president of the the confederate states during the civil war?

Jefferson Davis served as President of the Confederate States throughout the Civil War.

Why are the confederate states important during civil war?

The Civil War was a war between the Confederate States of America and the Union. So, the Confederate states were important because they were one of the two warring countries.