Best Answer

Herbert Hoover and Calvin Coolidge were sworn in by William Taft. Coolidge in 1925 and Hoover in 1929. Taft was the Chief Justice in 1923 when Warren Harding died in office but Calvin Coolidge was at his father's home at the time. Coolidge's father was a notary public and therefore swore his son into office to finish Harding's term. Taft swore him in for the second term.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

This first happened in 1840 when William Henry Harrison was sworn in March and died in April, causing John Tyler to be sworn into the presidential office. It also happened in 1865with Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson, in 1880 with James Garfield and Chester Arthur, in 1901 with William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt and most recently in 1945, when Franklin Roosevelt was sworn in for his fourth term , died, and left the office to Harry Truman.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which two Presidents were sworn in by a previous President?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many presidents are become in US?

Barack Obama is the 44th president. But we did not have 44 men who were sworn into office-- we only had 43, because one of the presidents, Grover Cleveland, was sworn in two separate times. Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms. He was the 22nd and the 24th president. So, Barack Obama's presidency is the 44th in our history, but 43 men have been elected since our first president, George Washington, took office in 1789.

What country had two presidents?

For a short time after the disputed election of November 28, 2010, the country of Ivory Coast in Africa had two different presidents sworn in. However, the recognition of incumbent Laurent Gbagbo was fleeting, and President Alassane Ouattara was confirmed the victor on April 11, 2011.

Who were the two presidents sworn into office in philadelphia?

George Washington was the second time, and John Adams.

Which US President was sworn in twenty eight years after Roosevelt?

There are two US Presidents named Roosevelt, so the answers for both are :Theodore Roosevelt became President upon McKinley's assassination, on September 14, 1901. He was re-elected to his own term in 1904 and sworn in on March 4, 1905.So 28 years after that ceremony, his fifth cousin Franklin Roosevelt was sworn in on March 4, 1933.Twenty-eight years after that, John F. Kennedy was sworn in as President on January 20, 1961.

If a president serves two consecutive terms do they not get sworn in the second time?

Yes you would get sworn in for your second term.

Does Ireland have a woman president?

No. The current president is Michael D. Higgins, inaugurated on the 11th of November 2011. The previous two presidents of Ireland Mary McAleese and Mary Robinson were both women.

Why did john c calhoun propose that the us have two presidents?

because there is a president and a vice president thats why he said we have two presidents

Does presidents day honour two great presidents president George Washington and president Clinton?

Yes, it does

Who are all the Presidents of Brazil?

I know only two presidents... President Cardoso and President Lula Da Silva

What is the plural possessive of president?

The plural possessive for president is presidents'.Examples: Two of the US presidents' names were Roosevelt.

What number president will Barack Obama be when he is sworn in on January 20 2013?

President Obama was the 44th president when he was sworn in. There have been 43 men who have held the office of president. One, Grover Cleveland, was elected twice, but not two terms in a row-- two separate terms. He was the 22nd and 24th president.

What procedural changes were made by Amendments XX and XXII?

Amendment XX shortened the time between when the president is elected and the timed he is sworn in the next year. Amendment XXII put a limit on how many terms a president could serve. Presidents may only serve in office for a maximum of two four-year terms. However, if elevated from vice-presidency during the previous president's term, he may finish his term and serve a maximum of two more 4-year terms.