answersLogoWhite

0

Select your study mode:

Cards in this guide (20)
What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

A slashing hand motion over the neck by a waterskiing participant means cut the motor or stop.

What is the requirement for Coast Guard assistance when a vessel is aground

First of all, ALWAYS wear a Personal Flotation Device (PFD)

This is highly dependent on how the vessel is aground. If you are aground on the rocks or on the sand and there is a danger due to high waves, a hull breach, flooding or injury, the US Coast Guard is going to do everything humanly possible to assist those persons in distress. There is a point though, where if there is a high probability that it will jeopardize the lives of the boat crews or helicopter crew, they may have to wait till the situation stabilizes. They will exhaust every possible option first.

If you are aground and in no danger, they may broadcast marine assistance request for other boaters, commercial tow or wait for you to re-float, depending on the location, assets available and severity of the grounding. The US Coast Guard is not required to salvage your vessel, their responsibility is to the persons in distress. You can always contact the US Coast Guard on channel 16 (International Hailing and Distress). The first four questions you will be asked. 1. Position (lat and long or geographical), 2.) Nature of distress (aground, sinking, fire, manoverboard..) 3.) Description of your vessel 4.) And is everyone wearing a life jacket (pfd). Please refer to the link provided in the related link section.
The coast guard is required to assist when a person is in distress. They are not required to salvage your boat.

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

Children under 13 years of age must wear a flotation device of some kind.

Which agency is responsible for regulating the state boating laws in Virginia

Department of game and inland fisheries

Within how many days must you file a boating accident for an incident that results in property damage only and exceeds 2000

10 days in the state of va

In Virginia a person must be how old to legally operate a PWC

14 years old

In Virginia you must operate at slow-no-wake speed within how many feet of boat ramps marinas and moorages

In Virginia, you must operate at slow-no-wake speed within 50 feet of boat ramps, marinas and moorages.

The danger of hypothermia is greatest for a person in which situation

Immersed in cold water

What is the vertical movement of a body of water called

vertical movement of a body of water called

What is the leading cause of PWC accidents

The leading cause of PWC accidents is striking an object.

What equipment is required while operating a motorboat in Virginia

Personal floatation devices are required while operating a motorboat in Virginia.

Which vessels are exempt from being titled and registered in Virginia

Canoe and kayaks without an engine

Which agency is responsible for regulating that state boating laws in VA

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries

In addition to department conservation police officers and local law enforcement authorities where else can you get an accident report form

department of game and fishery

What do you need to know when passing under a river bridge

Clearance height under the bridge

The Best way to prevent striking a swimmer with a moving boat propeller is to do what

Always turn off engine when A swimmer is reboarding

In Virginia when hailed by a marine patrol officer what must you do

Stop and permit the officer to come alongside

VA-12 In Virginia what are boat operators required to do when involved in an accident

Give assistance to any person injured in the accident

In Virginia boaters with blood alcohol content (BAC) over what percent are considered Operating Under the Influence (OUI)

0.08%

When hunting from a boat, what is the best way to maintain the boat's stability

Keep body weight low with gear distributed evenly.

Related study guides

Virginia

21 cards

What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

What is the requirement for Coast Guard assistance when a vessel is aground

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

Which agency is responsible for regulating the state boating laws in Virginia

➑️
See all cards

Boats and Watercraft

20 cards

What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

In Virginia where can you get a boat trailer registration

What should you do first when a vessel capsizes

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

➑️
See all cards

Boats and Watercraft

24 cards

What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

In California how often must you renew a boats Certificate of Number

In Virginia where can you get a boat trailer registration

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

➑️
See all cards

Boats and Watercraft

28 cards

What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

What should you do if your small open boat capsizes

What is the purpose of filing a float plan

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

➑️
See all cards

Boats and Watercraft

25 cards

What does a slashing hand motion over the neck mean by a waterskiing participant

What should you do if your small open boat capsizes

What is the purpose of filing a float plan

When not below deck or in an enclosed cabin children under what age must wear PFDs when boating in Virginia

➑️
See all cards