answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There is no "home alone" law in Mississippi and no guidance in the state law as to when a child is old enough to be left alone. The Department of Human Services has investigated many cases of children being left alone, but has failed to establish any commonly accepted guidelines. Many children have become "latch key kids," coming home after school by themselves and staying alone until their mother gets home from work. Many young teenagers baby-sit with other children - their own siblings or a neighbor's child. If teenagers age thirteen or above, is a responsible person, there's probably no reason why she or he cannot be left in charge of younger children for short periods of time. Children younger than that should probably not be left with the obligation of caring for younger children for any period of time. Leaving a child under the age of thirteen at home alone, with or without younger children present, is not against the law, but it could lead to a DHS investigation and, if the DHS social worker felt that the child or children were not safe in the circumstances, to youth court hearing. Although there is no law on the subject, the big concern is the safety of the child, and both DHS and law enforcement can act if they feel that a child is endangered by being at home alone. If infants or very young children are left alone for any length of time at all, charges of neglect could be filed and the parent who left them alone could be criminally prosecuted as well as taken to youth court.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

Mississippi laws are screwy regarding this subject. The age of majority in MS is actually 21. However, once a person reaches 18, they can enter into a property contract, sue in their own name, consent to their medial care, and do a whole slew of other things. I've never known of a case where an 18-year-old has left home and the police have drug them back. If you're under 18, you can't leave.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references.

One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

"There is no "home alone" law in Mississippi and no guidance in the state law as to when a child is old enough to be left alone." ref. Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages specified in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Parents are responsible for their children until they reach the age of majority. This is 21 in Mississippi and 18 most other states and countries around the world. The responsibility includes determining where the child should live.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

There is no legal age for children to stay at home alone.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

the legal age a child has to be to decide what parent they would choose to live with is 13

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

== == 21

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What age can a minor move out with parental permission in Mississippi?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a minor and and an adult have baby can the minor move in with him if she got parental consent?

yes. as long as you have parental permission.


Can a minor move out without that parents permission legally in New Mexico?

No, a minor cannot move without permission. They must have parental consent or a court order.


Can you move out of your parents house in Mississippi without permission?

No, it is not possible as long as you are a minor.


Can you move out at 13 years of age in Idaho?

Only if you have parental permission. As a minor your parents are still responsible for you.


Can you move out as a minor in Georgia?

Only if you have parental permission (even then your parents are still responsible) or you've been emancipated.


How can a minor move in with there friend without emancipation?

If they have parental permission. The parents are responsible for the child. They can decide where the child lives.


If you get married at 16 does that give you permission to move out?

Marriage under the age of 18 requires parental permission. It also 'removes the disabilities of being a minor' or emancipate one, which means that you can move out.


Can you move out if your 17 and engaged in Georgia?

Engagement does not emancipate a minor. Until married, or with parental permission, you live where your parents say.


When can you move out on your own?

Without parental permission it is 18 in most states. In Alabama and Nebraska it's 19 and Mississippi it's 21.


Can you move out if your a 17 year old male and have a child?

Having a child does not emancipate a minor. Until you are married or an adult, you have to have parental permission.


Can you move out of your house if your 16 and have a child in Kentucky?

Having a child does not emancipate a minor in Kentucky. Until you are married or an adult, you have to have parental permission.


Is it illegal to move out of parents consent at 16 in Wisconsin?

A minor can not legally decide where to live without parental permission or emancipation from the court.