answersLogoWhite

0

Runaways

A runaway is any legal minor that has left the care of their guardian without consent.

315 Questions

Where to go to runaway from home?

yo runnaway to a friends house but go to when where who ever u running away from dosent know

What to do when reporting a teen runaway?

First you need to send the police a picture in case your teen didnt run away and was kidnapped. Next you need to broadcast it all over thenews using an Amber Alert so it can get broadcast quicker. Then if your teen does come back talk to them. Let them know that you are here for them if they ever need you or just want to talk. Tell them you would always be there for them no matter what. DO NOT THREATEN, YELL, CURSE, CUSS, SCREAM, OR GIVE THE SILENT TREATMENT.

If a teenager is having problems with it's family can the teen go live with extended family without being considered a runaway?

if the teen is having problems with his/her family they should talk to someone if she/he does go to live with there family and the parents do not know where they are and they find out they could post u as a runaway and press charges on the family also they can get them for kidnapping..........so talk to someone

Can parents report you as a runaway when you are 18 in Fl 18 is the legal age to move out right So can the police do anything if you are 18?

If you began your fugitive lifestyle before you attained the age of 18, then yes, you could be arrested even though you are now 18.

Can a 17 year old living with her parents runaway and live her sister?

In Texas the legal age to be able to move out is 17. You would just have to call your parents and tell them your okay and have a secure place to live and the police cant intervene. In other states I'm pretty sure you have to be 18, or you will be considered a runaway and can be returned to your parents and/or be put in a juvinelle facility. To get emanicpated you have to be 16 and you can look up laws about emancipation. So to the point: legally you cannot live with your sister unless your parents agree, you live in Texas, or get emancipated.

:/

In Iowa at what age are you not considered a runaway and the police cannot take you back home?

I believe the age is 17 in Iowa. I'm not sure though, I'm not from that state. x3

Just don't run away too soon kiddo. :(

What happens to the people a runaway teen is staying with if the teen were to get caught?

if your under aged then the people you are staying with can be charged with fostering a runaway. you really want to be careful with this because if your parents want to press charges against the people you are with they can possibly charge them with kiddnap,even if you diod runaway on your own!!! good luck!

Can a parent or law enforcement force a seventeen year old runaway to return home in the state of Wisconsin?

Yes, but law enforcement may not do much if the runaway is near the age of eighteen.

If a 16 year old child runs away with a 18 year old adult how much trouble can they get into?

i dont think theyd get in any trouble cuz 16 is the legal age to move where u want to

Do you have to let a runaway come home?

depending on the age/dependibility of the child if they dont want u home and u dont wanna go then no, however if u want to go home they MUST let you come home if u r under the age of 16

If a child is 16 going to be 17 in three months can she runaway?

Can she "run away", obviously yes, but it would not be legal and her parents could take steps to have her returned to their custody or even request she be taken into custody and supervised by state authorities.

Can an adult encounter legal problems if they allow a 15-year-old runaway to live in their home?

YES!!! Especially if the other person is over the age of 18 years old.Be careful, it could turn into a really bad thing...especially if her parents(or his parents) were to push the issue in court

Can you runaway from an abusive home and not be chaged by the police?

okay... here are the three steps of running away from an abusive home: 1. secretly pack clothes, food, and A LOT of water. 2. dial 9-1-1. 3. get police, and tell them the story. 4. VITAL PART- ask for a good foster home that doesn't have too many kids. that is how you make it out of an abusive home. The police thing might not be good, but you YOU DON'T want to go to an orphanage. people rarely go there. YOU DO NOT WANT to be a hobo either..... unless you really want to be one.

What will the police do if your parents report you as a runaway?

Absolutely nothing in Torrington, Ct. They catch you and bring you to the station make sure your ok and release you to your parents. * It depends upon the state and if the minor has a history of leaving home against parental wishes. If the minor has a record of being a runaway or absentee minor, the court consider the minor to be "incorregible" and have them remanded into juvenile custody in a group home or other court supervised facility. In any case an investigation will be done by the state's department of family and children's services to determine the reason for the action and if warranted, request the juvenile court to take the appropriate action.

What are the responsibilities of the parents of a runaway?

Depending on the age it is not really a parent issue, in New York after 90 days the parents can be arrested until the child is found alive or proof of life is given to police. * The parents are responsible for filing an absentee minor report with the police department that has jurisdiction and to cooperate with authorities in whatever capacity is required. Neither parents or any other person can be arrested simply because a person minor or adult is missing. Before anyone can be arrested there must be proof that a crime has been committed, and said person had particpated in or had knowledge of the criminal act in question.

What can you do if your child runs away in Missouri?

File a missing minor report with your local law enforcement agency either by going to the police department or requesting an officer be dispatched to your home. Write down the name and badge number of the officer who takes the report and also the report number. Request that the police agency enter the report data into the NCIC system. If they refuse to do so, tell them you are aware that it is mandatory under the 1983 Missing Children's Act. If they still do not cooperate, contact the local office of the FBI and give them the necessary information, they must comply under federal law. Contact the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children at 1-800-843-5628 and the National Runaway Line at 1-800-621-4000.

In Wisconsin can the police force a 17-year-old runaway return home if the minor has a safe place to live?

No. Wisconsin is the only US state where a minor who is at least 16 can use "self-emancipation". The requirements are, the minor must be in a safe environment as determined by authorities, must inform the parents or guardian of his or her location and must comply with all state laws pertaining to compulsory education, sufficient income for support, etc.

Trending Questions
Can a 17 year old Connecticut runaway be forced to come home? Can you bring home 17 year old Michigan across the state lines legally that is being forced to stay with relatives in Kentucky because of different runaway states laws take precedence? If I am a 18 year old living in Omaha Nebraska and i move out with my fiance and my parents report me as a runaway will the Police force me to go back Or what will happen? What is the charge of a run away child? How can you get around a runaway law in MS? When was Cariboo Runaway created? Can your parents kick you out at 17 then call 911 and report you as a runaway? Can a parent physically take a 17 year old child back home if they have run away in North Carolina? Can a 17 year old living with her parents runaway and live her sister? What are the responsibilities of the parents of a runaway? Will grandparent be harboring a runaway if Abused minor child ran away to grandparents home? How old was Thomas Edison when he a saved child from a runaway train? If your parents tell you to leave the house can they legal declare you a runaway? What is runaway speed? In the state of Indiana if a runaway minor is 17 and 8 months and his or her parent files a report would the authorities actually look for said minor and what would be the consequences if found? After what age will the police not think of your child as a runaway in South Carolina? In Texas can you move out when you're 17 without being reported as a runaway and can your parents have you brought back home? What happens if you help a runaway? What happens to the people a runaway teen is staying with if the teen were to get caught? If the child refuses to come home and the parent knows where he is at is he considered a runaway in Washington state?