answersLogoWhite

0

Yes...BUT, Monstrosity's text specifically says 'If this creature isn't monstrous', so if you tried to use it for a second time, it would have no effect.

Take Arbor Colossus, which has 3GGG: Monstrosity 3. If you play that ability once, it will become monstrous and gain three +1/+1 counters. If you tried to play it again, it will see it is already monstrous and will not give any more counters. Even if you activated it twice on the same stack, the first will resolve and make the creature monstrous, meaning the second will fail even though the creature was not monstrous when both abilities were played.

However, with the wording of the question in mind, yes, you are allowed to 'use' the ability multiple times, nothing stops you playing the monstrous ability even if it will have no effect when it resolves.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

What are the rules for regeneration in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)?

In Magic: The Gathering, regeneration is a ability that allows a creature to avoid destruction once. To regenerate a creature, you pay its regeneration cost when it would be destroyed. This removes it from combat and taps it, but it remains on the battlefield with all damage removed.


What are the rules for planeswalker emblems in Magic: The Gathering?

Planeswalker emblems in Magic: The Gathering are permanent effects that are created by certain planeswalker abilities. Once an emblem is created, it stays on the battlefield and cannot be removed or interacted with by players. Emblems do not have any physical representation and cannot be targeted or destroyed. Players cannot have more than one of the same emblem at a time.


How do you play an emblem in Magic: The Gathering?

To play an emblem in Magic: The Gathering, you must first activate a card or ability that creates the emblem. Emblems are not cards and cannot be played directly from your hand. Once the emblem is created, it remains on the battlefield and its effects are active for the rest of the game.


What is the significance of double strike in the game of Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, double strike is significant because it allows a creature to deal damage twice in combat - once during the first strike combat damage step, and again during the regular combat damage step. This can give the creature a strategic advantage in battles and help players win more efficiently.


What are permanents in Magic: The Gathering and how do they impact gameplay?

Permanents in Magic: The Gathering are cards that stay on the battlefield once played, such as creatures, artifacts, enchantments, and lands. They impact gameplay by providing ongoing effects, abilities, and resources that can influence the flow of the game and give players strategic advantages.


What are the official rulings for Deadeye Navigator in Magic: The Gathering?

The official ruling for Deadeye Navigator in Magic: The Gathering is that its ability can only be activated once per turn, and it can only target a creature that is already on the battlefield. Additionally, the creature targeted by Deadeye Navigator's ability must be a nonland permanent.


What are the rules for using Caged Sun in a game of Magic: The Gathering?

When using Caged Sun in Magic: The Gathering, you must pay 6 mana to cast it. Once on the battlefield, it boosts the mana produced by lands of a chosen color by 1. It also has the ability to tap for mana of the chosen color.


How does the companion mechanic work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, the companion mechanic allows players to include a specific creature card in their sideboard that can be cast once certain conditions are met during the game. The companion card starts outside the game and can be cast from there if the player meets the companion's specific requirements.


How does the "regenerate" ability function in Magic: The Gathering (MTG)?

In Magic: The Gathering, the "regenerate" ability allows a creature to avoid being destroyed or killed by an effect. When a creature with regenerate would be destroyed, instead it is tapped, removed from combat, and all damage is removed from it. This ability can only be used once per instance of destruction.


How do double attack triggers work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, double attack triggers allow a creature to attack twice in the same turn. This ability is usually triggered by a specific card or effect, allowing the creature to attack once during the regular combat phase and then again during a second combat phase.


How does the "regenerate" ability work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, the "regenerate" ability allows a creature to avoid being destroyed by an effect that would normally kill it. When a creature with regenerate would be destroyed, instead it is tapped, removed from combat, and all damage is removed from it. This ability can only be used once per instance of destruction.


What is the process for accessing the DCI login for Magic: The Gathering (MTG) accounts?

To access the DCI login for Magic: The Gathering (MTG) accounts, you need to visit the official DCI website and create an account. Once you have registered, you can log in using your username and password to access your MTG account information and participate in organized play events.