Best Answer

There were 11 southern states that seceded from the Union. This took place at the beginning of the Civil War, and these states were called the Confederate States of America.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many southern states suceeded from the union?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many southern states seceded from the union?


How many southern states seceded from union?


What did the southern states threaten to do many times?

Seceding from the Union??

How did they solve the dispute between the northern and southern states?

The Union soldiers defeated the Confederate soldiers. The southern states surrendered and the northern states put many sanctions on the southern states after the war.

How many states left the union in 1860 and 1861?

11 southern states left the union and formed a separate government.

What role did support for slavery playin the secession of southern states?

The Southern states wanted to keep their slaves, and they were worried that President Abraham Lincoln wanted to free the slaves, so many of the southern states left the union to try and keep their slaves.

Which situation was the most immediate results of Abraham Lincoln's election to the presidency in 1860?

The most immediate result of Abraham Lincoln's election to the presidency in 1860 was that many Southern states seceded from the Union. Abraham Lincoln was the 16th President of the United States.

Which side did Ulysses S. Grant fight for in the civil war?

The Union army was fighting for the end of slavery and to unite the country again. The southern states were huge supporters of slavery, considering the fact that southerners had huge plantations which required many people to take care of the huge area, so slaves were often an option...After the southern states and northern states argued over slavery, most southern states seceded from the United States and created their own country, called the "Confederacy". Their first president was Jefferson Davis. So a civil war broke out, causing the northern states to fight the southern states.So basically the goal for the Union was to end slavery and unite the United States back together. So the Union Army was fighting for freedom...

How many states seceded from the union in 1860?

Florida and South Carolina were the only Southern states to secede in 1860. The other 9 seceded in 1861.

How many southern states where there?

there was thirteen southern states?????? there was thirteen southern states??????

What is the civil War is mostly about?

The US Civil War was about many things. The politicians of the Northern states and the Southern states disagreed on issues such as slavery, tariffs, treaties, etc. The Southern states decided they could no longer work with the Northern states, and announced they were leaving the Union. The Northern states told them they could not leave (Secede). The Southern states decided to kick the Union military out of the South, and attacked Ft. Sumter in South Carolina. Game on.

How many people were there in the Confederacy in 1857?

None, because the Confederate States didn't exist in 1857. The CSA was formed in 1861 by the Southern states that seceded from the Union, and was abolished in 1865 when the Union won the Civil War.