Unanswered | Answered


Parent Category: Cheeses
Rennet is an enzyme that is produced in the stomachs of all mammals, and plays an integral role in the production of most cheeses. Rennet causes a mammal's milk to coagulate, separating it into both liquid and solid elements. The rennet is usually taken from the fourth stomach of a young calf.
Acid curd-Is Lactic Acid or other organic acids cause precipitation of the milk protein casein as calcium caseinate to form and insoluble clot. The clot is hard and will not retract from the walls of the test tube. An acid curd is easily identified if the tube is inverted and the clot remains...
Certain stores sell them near wine making supplies, or you can try online or a local cheese maker, which is where I got mine.
No. It will deactivate it.
I found a Vegetable rennet in a organic store called "eat organic pte ltd"Address 619H Bukit Timah Road.AS of 22/4//2013Cheers!
The rennet of the calf had a bacterial infection and required antibiotics.
i have junket rennet tablets 10 pieces i dont h any have use with them i gonna to sell it with 10 dirhams if any one need it .. ,my email is suadtaha1@gmail.com if any one need them please contact me .. thanks
Phonetically. It isn't a silent t. Ren-net.
Rennet allows the to coagulate.
Rennet is actually dead baby cow enzymes scraped from its 4th stomach. - It is used in Cheese manufacturing as a 'hardener' (to make cheese more firm). pretty much all cheeses can contain "rennet". It is entirely up to the manufacturer of the cheese if they will use an animal rennet or a non animal...
1 quart nettle or fig leaves 1 quart water 1 tsp salt Simmer in well covered pot for 10 minutes. Strain and add to warm soy milk. One cup of liquid will curdle 4 quarts of soy milk.
depends on the brand, for example Sargento does, BelGioioso doesn't.
You can buy both citric acid and rennet tablets or liquid at any Whole Foods organic market.
One teaspoon of liquid rennet is reported to be equivalent to one Junket Rennet tablet. Thus, you would use one teaspoon to coagulate five gallons of inoculated milk, or 4 drops/gallon of inoculated milk. (I have only used tablet rennet, but am assured that liquid rennet works just as well as the...
Columbia encyclopedia definition states"...obtained from stomachs of young mammals living on milk." then piglets (nursing babies) have rennet.
I know that the Mississippi Market on west 7th carries liquid rennet.
Yes, it states on its website that it used a rennet derived from yeast (not animal rennet)
Well it's normally their choice. Eggs are the embryos of chickens, and many vegetarians are not okay with their consumption. Gelatin is made from various animal products, such as pig skin, cow hoof, or horn, and so would not be eaten by most vegetarians. Rennet is an enzyme extracted from an...
Typically yes unless it is marked as "vegetarian"
  Rennet, processed from the stomachs of unweaned calves, is often used in the production of hard cheese as a curdling and coagulating agent. Kosher hard cheese is produced with microbial rennet, which is derived from kosher sources. Because hard cheese is typically made with animal rennet, the...
Most cheddar cheeses contain animal rennet.
I believe they have to do with the cheese making process. They are an ingredient in cheese.
Rennet is used in the production of cheese.
Seeds of Withania coagulans (Solanaceae family). Also called vegetable rennet ; paneer band, paneer dodi, Tukhm-e-Hayat (urdu and persian)
  Rennet is sold commercially. Rennin, basically the same, is sold in supermarkets.
As many people are allergic to animal rennet, if used in a product it should indicate this on the label. If it does not it is probably safe to eat, but if in doubt at all, don't eat it. Rennet is mainly found in cheese and cheese products.
www.cheesemaking.com   where can I buy rennet tablets
Rennet is curdled milk found in the stomach of an unweaned calf. Rennet is used in curdling milk for cheese, junket, etc. Rennet is also a preparation made from the stomach membrane of a calf or from certain fungi which is used for the same purpose describe previously.
Stinging nettle (urtica gracilis).
No it does not. Amul cheese is 100% vegetarian
yes, cream cheese has whey which has curdled milk so it may be animal derived.
Does WalMart carry rennet tablets
Rennet is an enzyme found in the stomach of young mammals and has been used for thousands of years in cheese making. This extract from the dried stomachs of goats, sheep, and cattle is the original rennet, not some manufactured laboratory chemical. Certain plants contain similar enzymes and have...
Rennet is calf intestine. The calf (which is not really a baby calf, but a calf that is several months old) is dead and turned into veal and the rest of its parts used in other products for human consumption other than edible items.
Safeway only sells "JUNKET" rennet for custard making not for  cheese making. If you use the junket stuff you have to add more  than the package says to add... and it doesent taste as good...
  Rennet in a set of enzymes which come from the stomach of a cow.   It is used in the cheese-making process to help the milk to curdle.   There are vegetarian alternatives for those who prefer it, so check the label when you buy.
You can contact info@cheesemaking.co.za
you can get from More or BigBazzar.
Yes. Rennet is used to curdle the milk. There are substitutes but traditional cheese making depends on the use of rennet. If your Brie comes from France then you can be sure rennet was used.
No. Rennet is an enzyme, butter is mainly milkfat.
  Simmer 1 qt nettles, 1 qt water, 1 tsp salt for 10 minutes. Strain. Add to warm milk. 1 cup curdles 4 quarts milk. Recipe can be halved or quartered
  Rennet is a group of enzymes that come from the stomach lining of cows, goats, or lambs. It is used to digest the mother's milk or commercially, by humans, to make cheese.
I was plagued with this question as well before as to where I could get my hands on some rennet without slaughtering a baby cow or wait for some one to make a Lechon out of the cow and have me myself extract the rennet from the cow. But I finally found where I could get some Microbial Rennet in the...
Casein has a negative charge and it is dispersed in milk, to make  cheese one must denature casein to coagulate it. Using the enzyme  rennin, found in rennet, the casein will coagulate.
  Rennet is an enzyme that is made by baby calves to digest milk.  It acts by cleaving off the tails of Kappa Casein that surround the casein micelle, which allows the casein micelles to get closer to each other, thus causing them to bond together and precipitate.  Rennet can be made...
Contact Elaine on elaine@alivingway.com   They ship nationwide in South Africa on a weekly basis. Rennet and  cheese and yoghurt cultures
You will need to read the ingredients to know if rennet of calf buffalo is used. Rennet is added to many different cheeses although some cheese is made without animal rennet.
Rennet are active enzymes that are often used for the making of cheese. Rennet is produced in any mammal's stomach and is therefore very important in young mammal's stomachs as they use these enzymes to digest their mother's milk.
No, it is used in the manufacture of Cheese.
Because the. Rennet. Curdles and it. Makes it easier for them to make cheese and junket and is also not expensive.
Rennet is an enzyme used in the production of cheese (It turns the milk into curds). It can be obtained in either tablet or liquid form.
You can buy rennet for cheese making in Malaysia at the shops near  the University Putra Malaysia.
  Yes. All rennet does it make the cheese acidic. You can make very basic cheese by adding a dash of vinegar to milk, but it wont taste very nice!
Rennet is added to milk to separate the curds from the whey. The  curds (solids) are then processed to make cheese.
    they are tablets that are made out of an enzyme extracted from young ruminates stomach lining (calf,sheep,goat).the enzyme digest's milk in an animals gut.rennet is used in cooking to clot milk and make puddings or cheese
The simplest way to answer this is that a miniscule portion of meat in a dairy product that does not impart taste is permitted. The separation between meat and dairy need not be absolute to the level of microbes, but to the level where the taste is noticeable and the quantity is still small. When...
You cannot make rennet from melons or any other fruit.   Rennet is a complex of enzymes produced in the stomachs of  ruminant mammals. Chymosin, its key component, is a protease  enzyme that curdles the casein in milk.   However acids from acidic fruit (e.g. lemons, limes, oranges) can ...
Dear John rekons it comes from cow guts, but i reckon it comes from Chinese babies. Like u know how the Chinese can only have one kid. What happens to the rest? Exactly they kill them off for rennet. Gee im smart
  Rennet is an enzyme which, when added to milk, produces cheese.
Vegetarian rennet is made from microbes and plants, instead of animals stomachs.
There are many potential problems: If the assumption is that you will be using rennet to make cheese, the cheese produced would not be kosher since the rennet would come from a calve and the cheese would come from dairy. That part is a basic of the Jewish dietary law of not mixing meat (or meat...
No. Cows get killed to produce it.
I am a vegetarian and yes, I just figured out, it is the lining of a calf's stomach. BUt it really depends on which kind of enzymes. Microbial enzymes are vegetarian because they are created in a lab and are 'man made'
Rennet is a dried extract made from the stomach lining of a ruminant, used in cheese making to curdle milk.
i was able to order liquid rennet at the george street food coop in new brunswick.
some are made from microbes and plants, instead of from animals' stomachs
  http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=7&ID=432&CATE=29   couldn't be more detailed. perfect answer.
  citric acid can be used for this purpose
Contact your local Chr. Hansen office here: http://www.chr-hansen.com/contact/worldwide_locations/branch.html
Yes and No... Most cheese manufactures in the UK use vegetarian rennet, mainly from fungi but used to be diverted from fruit like melons. However, not all rennet is vegetarian... Non-vegetarian rennet is taken from the inside of a slaughtered calfs stomach, the calf must be under a certain age or...
no after a lot of feed back they decided to not do that
Rennet is a group of enzymes with a mammal's stomach, often used in the production of cheese.
Possibly to thicken it.
  It comes from the lining of a calf's (baby cow's) stomach. You can get non-animal rennet also.     http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rennet
Rennet tablets are now available in the Philippines email boswood@gmail.com.  They can fedex the tablets to you anywhere in the philippines.  Please note they are P100 per tablet with a shipping fee of P110 for up to 10 Tablets.  Be further advised that this service is no longer available for...
you can get it here,i recently buy from them and service is fast..i  will definitely recommend them    http://www.ebay.in/usr/cheese-yoghurt
It is used in the preparation of cheese makin; the lining of a calf or other animal.
I just found a product that works perfect! Dairy Digestan tablets,  used to help the digestion of lactose, contain each tablet contain  4 gr of Rennet, you can purchase those at GNC Live Well Store for  $11.99 100 tablets! Cheesse Makers have afield Day!
  Rennet is substance containing rennin, an enzyme having the property of clotting, or curdling, milk. It is used in the making of cheese and junket. Animal Rennet is obtained from the fourth, or true, stomach (abomasum) of milk-fed calves. The preparation of rennet was formerly a part of the...
If anything under 7 is acidic and rennet , in its first stage, us 5.8. Then the optimum pH for rennet is acidic
Whole foods at the Kirby location
Rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, in all cases is permissible, as long as the animal in question is not a pig.  Most well informed people are adamant that rennet, which is used to make cheese, is not derived from...
There are a lot of brands of rennet tablets. For example, Marschall M-50 is a vegetable based rennet that comes in tablet form. You can also find liquid vegetable rennet one is an in house brand from Cheesesupply.com. The same company also supplies a liquid animal rennet.    Another name...
  I was plagued with this question as well before as to where I could get my hands on some rennet without slaughtering a baby cow or wait for some one to make a Lechon out of the cow and have me myself extract the rennet from the cow. But I finally found where I could get some Microbial Rennet...
no,only from calves, it was cancelled anyway