The question and answer are locked and cannot be edited.

How many moons does Neptune have?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

Neptune has fourteen known moons as of the year 2013, five of those fourteen having been discovered in 2002, 2003 and 2013.

Here's a list of all known moons, in order of increasing orbital radius from Neptune:

  • Naiad
  • Thalassa
  • Despina
  • Galatea
  • Larissa
  • Proteus
  • Triton
  • Nereid
  • Halimede
  • Sao
  • Laomedeia
  • Psamathe
  • Neso
  • S/2004 N1 (may soon be named Polyphemus)

Neptune's largest moon is Triton and its smallest (as of 2010) is Psamathe.
69 people found this useful
Thanks for the feedback!

How many moons and rings does Neptune have?

Neptune has 13 known moons and a ring system with 5 principal rings, which were discovered in 1989 by the Voyager 2 space probe. (see related question)

How many moons or rings does Neptune have?

Neptune has 13 moons and 5 rings. Moons: NaiadThalassaDespinaGalateaLarissaProteusTriton NereidHalimedeSaoLaomedeiaPsamatheNeso Rings: GalleLeVerrierLassellAragoAdams

How many moons did Neptune have in 1997?

Neptune had the same number of moons in 1997 as it has now. No new  ones have formed nor have any been destroyed. However, more have  been discovered. In 1997 we knew of 8 m

How many moons are there on the planet Neptune?

There are no moons ON Neptune, moons orbit a planet, they do not sit on it. Orbiting Neptune, however, 13 moons have been discovered so far. They are: NaiadThalassaDespinaG