If you have a license in New Jersey but don't drive do you have to pay insurance?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

Not if you don't own a car unless your license is dependent on an SR-22 filing.
47 people found this useful

Do you have to pay insurance if you have a license but are not driving?

No, if you never drive, you don't need insurance. You need insurance if you own a vehicle. And, if you drive someone else's car and get in an accident and don't have insurance it could be a big mess. Call a few insurance agencies and see what they recommend if you plan to drive at all. And, if you (MORE)

Does one need auto insurance to drive with a learner's permit in New Jersey?

Insurance and Learners permits Yes, All 50 U.S. states require that a driver carry the appropriateFinancial Responsibility. There is No exception of law in any U.S.state for a learners permit. A Drivers or Learners "Permit" is permission to drive and thereforea temporary license with certain restr (MORE)

Where can you go in New Jersey to complete the pre-licensing courses for a title insurance producer's license?

NJ Dept. of Banking & Insurance http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/inslic.htm There's a link for Approved Insurance Education Providers (MS Excel, 68K) to download an .xls file for the NJOBI list of approved schools. Online Title Pre-License Classes CAPE Education (www.capeschool.com) Stat (MORE)

In New Jersey if you get a ticket for having too many passengers in the car or driving past the allowed time with a provisional license does your insurance go up?

Answer . \nAs long as it is not considered a moving violation, which usually require a court hearing, then the insurance will most likely not increase. I'm not sure about the provisional license though, that may have certain execeptions. If it becomes suspended, for any reason then insurance wil (MORE)

Where can you get a tattoo license in New Jersey?

Answer . to get a tattoo license in new jersey you have to have obtained your 2000 hours with written proof from your master, at that time you go to the board of health and get your instructions from there. Goto any local tattooist anywhere in New Jersey (or even your master should know.) and (MORE)

Should you pay a speeding ticket for going 80 in a 65 mph zone in Ohio if you have a New Jersey driver's license only if it is not going to affect your insurance?

\n. \n Answer \n. \nMoral obligation to do the right thing aside, the history of the ticket will appear on your driving record, regardless of what state license you hold and where you got the ticket. When you don't pay it, it will be reflected on your driving record and eventually your licen (MORE)

If a friend was driving your car and got into an accident but was not at fault who pays for damages in New Jersey?

\n. \n Insurance picks up the tab \n. \nIf you gave the friend permission to be driving your motor vehicle then you are responsible for the damage. If you can prove your friend's negligence, then it might be worth talking to an attorney. If you were in a simple accident, your friend had permis (MORE)

If you are at fault but there was no police report and the other driver was driving someone else's car and they have no insurance and a suspended license will your insurer or you still have to pay?

Answer . \nMost insurers are really going to want a police report before they pay. I suspect that the owner of the car is going to find some way of getting their car fixed. If they have the details about you, they are either going to approach your insurance company or you for compensation. Th (MORE)

If you have a New York state drivers license but live in New Jersey can you get auto insurance in New Jersey?

It depends on your insurance company. Many will require a copy of your license and driving record before they insure you. This is an anti fraud measure which started after 9/11. By law you have 30 days to secure a new drivers license when you move to another state. If you do not you are risking heft (MORE)

What if you don't pay your car insurance?

First, your policy will be cancelled. Then, depending on what state you live in, the insurance company reports the cancellation to your Motor Vehicles department. Depending on how efficient they are, either your drivers license or car registration (or both) can be revoked. In some states, law enforc (MORE)

How do you beat a 3rd driving without a license in New Jersey offense?

Possible? Maybe, but awfully unlikely.. If you were the judge, what would convince you? I mean it's painfully obvious from the first two tickets that you know you don't have a license, and you know you need one to drive.. Put yourself in the judge's place and think hard! If I were the judge, I'd b (MORE)

What happens when you don't pay your insurance?

It lapses which means it cancels. Most insurances will do this after 30 days of unpaid premiums but some can be as quick as 1 day late (cobra) and some allow up to 90 days (Aflac). If a policy lapses, you might have reinstatement or reactivation provisions. Reinstatement is where they will activate (MORE)

How old do you have to be to get your license in New Jersey?

New Jersey has a gradual license program: The minimum age for a young adult to get their driving permit in New Jersey is 16 years old, after they have passed a written test and completed 6 hours of intructional driving. If the young adult chooses to wait until they are 17 to receive their permit, t (MORE)

What happens if you don't pay a speeding ticket in New Jersey and a warrant is issued?

Generally, warrants of that type are enforced only upon the person being stopped for some traffic violation, being in an accident or any other way his identity becomes known to the police. If the police run a check on him, the warrant shows up and he is taken into custody right then and there. He wi (MORE)

Can you drive a car if you don't have insurance but the car does you have a License?

All drivers are required by law to carry proof of Financial Responsibility. So if you are an insured driver under the terms of the Auto Insurance Contract then you are covered to drive it. If you are not an insured under the terms of that policy then you are not covered. Remember, Vehicles do not (MORE)

Where to get a business license from in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, business licenses are obtained from the Secretary of State Business Center. Some counties also require business licenses. You can access the link to the state and your specific county licensing office using the free website link below "New Jersey Business Licenses Directory."

In New Jersey what is the penalty for driving without car insurance?

Mandatory penalties include automatic loss of license for one year , $300.00 fine and a period of community service to be determined by the Municipal Court . N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2. There are also court costs and insurance surcharges of $250.00 per year for three years . Failure to produce at the tim (MORE)

Can I buy a new car and pay no insurance since I'm not driving it?

Not in Florida. Even if you own it outright you must insure it with Florida Insurance. You need to insure it only if you intend to keep it or use on a public road. But you MUST insure it to drive it off the lot to get it home. If, however, the vehicle is brought by a delivery company to site to be (MORE)

What is the statute of limitation for an unpaid ticket driving with a suspended license in new jersey?

There typically isn't a Statute of Limitations for a ticket that want the fine. It is designed to prevent someone being accused of something years after it happened when witnesses are not available and memories are not fresh. A ticket eliminates this issue. Once a ticket has been issued, there is no (MORE)

Do you need a motorcycle license to drive a trike in New Jersey?

Yes you do, however there is one exception. Chapter 11 page 166 on the NJ motorcycle Manual states: According to New Jersey law, a motorcycle can be a motor bike, a bicycle with a motor attached or any motor-operated vehicle of the bicycle or tricycle type, except for a motorized bicycle. The m (MORE)

Where to pay ticket in New Jersey?

Traffic and parking tickets in New Jersey are handled by Municipal Courts. You can either make a payment directly to the municipal court, or New Jersey offers a statewide online ticket payment system. In order to use the online system, you will need the ticket that was issued to you so that you can (MORE)

What Happens if Caught Driving Without a License but a Permit in New Jersey?

Well, there are two aspects to this question. The first aspect is the legal side of things. If you are caught, you will probably be going to court for what you did. The punishment would probably be a fine of some sort, or maybe probation/community service. I don't know what the punishment is if y (MORE)

Do you have to add your child to your car insurance if they are of legal driving age but don't have a drivers license?

You need to notify your insurance company of all children at or over the age of 15 and let them know of the license status as well. If they get a license of any kind notify your insurance company and give them the license information. If they are not licensed be sure that you do not let them drive t (MORE)

Do you have to add your kids to your insurance if they don't drive or have a license?

You need to supply the insurance company with their name, date of birth, and social security number when they turn 15 years old. They will not be charged until they are licensed. You also need to notify the insurance company when they obtain a learners license and give them the license number. Again (MORE)