What would you like to do?

What is the age limit at which you can leave your child home alone and for how long?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take care of themselves in an emergency. Most places believe that 12 or 13 is okay to leave home alone for a couple of hours during daylight hours. Legal Age There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages specified in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references.
74 people found this useful
Thanks for the feedback!

What is the legal age you can leave a child home alone in Virginia?

It appears there are only laws governing this in a few states.  Specifically, Maryland, Oregon, and Illinois have legal statutes  against leaving a minor unattended. Marylan

What is the legal age to leave a child home alone in PA?

Answer . It depends on your definition of child. Some nine year old individuals can be responsible when left alone. On the other hand there are 17 year old individuals that

At what age can you leave a child home alone?

This really depends on the child, their maturity and their capabilities. Most places don't have laws, just guidelines informing the parent that it is their responsibility to k

What age can you leave a child home alone in Colorado?

According to my research, a child can be left alone at the age of 12 in Colorado for short periods of time. This is all based upon the Colorado Child Labor Law, which states t