answersLogoWhite

0

  • Children and the Law
  • Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
  • Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

Can a 17-year-old legally move out and not be considered a runaway?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-07-27 22:50:39

Legally, Probably not....I did it but my parents allowed it and I was staying with another legal adult so I guess that doesn't count (?) I don't know if you would be able to get utilities and such in your name.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

What age can you legally move out in Maryland and what age are you not considered a runaway and the police can't bring you back home?

12 years old


Can a child move out at 17 in Wisconsin and not be considered a runaway?

No. You are only considered a runaway if your parents do not know where you are.


Can you move out of your mothers house legally without being considered a runaway?

You can move out if your parents house whenever you please but you have to have their permission and somewhere to go. Unless you are 18 or over.


Can you legally runaway at the age of seventeen in Louisiana?

No you can not until you are 18 and then you can move out.


Can you move out of your parents house at 16 in the state of Georgia?

No. You are a minor until the age of 18. If you leave at 16 without parents permission you can be legally considered a runaway.


Can you legally move out when you are 17 and can your parents do anything to stop you?

no, you must become legally emancipated or else your parents can report you as a runaway and you will get sent to juvie.


Can you a 17 year old in MO be forced to go back to your mothers home after moving out?

Yes. A 17-year old is considered a runaway. Not until the legal age of 18 can she move out legally.


Can a girl move out of the house at age 17 and not be considered a runaway?

Depends on what state.


Can a 17-year-old legally move out with parental consent in Alabama?

The only way a 17 year old can move out on their own is to get legally emancipated. If the minor attempts to move out without emancipation, they can be charged as a runaway.


At what age can you move out of your home and not be considered a runaway?

Basically anyone up to the age of 17 can be charged with runaway. But if you are 17-18, they can bring you back home, but will not file runaway charges


Can you move out if you are 19 and live in Kentucky?

You are legally considered an adult at eighteen years of age. So yes, you could legally move out.


Can a 17-year-old move out of the state of Texas without parental consent?

Yes, but that juvenile would be considered a runaway. You're not legally an adult and responsible for yourself until the age of 18.


Can you move out at 17 in Texas with out parental consent?

no you have to be emancipated by a parent,otherwise you would be considered a runaway...


Can a 17 year old move out of her house legally in the state of Ohio?

Yes, if she is emancipated by a court or if her parents give her permission. Otherwise, she is a runaway.


What is the youngest age that you can move out in South Carolina?

You can legally move out at age 17, because you considered an adult then.


Can a 16 year old move out legally without parents consent if age of consent is 16 in NC?

The age of consent is not 16 in NC. If you move out, you are a runaway. Wait until you are 18.


When can you legally move out of your parents house in Texas?

You are considered an adult at 18 in Texas.


Can you move out if you're 17 and living in Pennsylvania?

The age of majority in Pennsylvania is 18. That is the age at which you can legally move out on your own. If you try to move out before that age, or run away, you can be reported as a runaway and forced to return home.


Can a 16 year old move out of their parents house without the parents consent in ND?

No. They will be considered elopement/runaway.


Can a 16 year old that is married move out legally in the state of Illinois?

Yes. A person who is legally married is considered emancipated and responsible for him/herself.


In the State of Georgia can a minor legally move out of their parents' home if they will be 18 years old in 2 months and have graduated high school?

well...your parents cant kick you out until you are 18 yrs old, but you can legally leave your home at age 17 and not be charged with anything, or be considered a runaway. This is because of the loop hole in Georgia law


How can an 17 yr old move out of their parents home in Georgia legally?

your parents can kick you out at age 18, but you are able in Georgia to leave your home at age 17, with out getting charged of anything or be considered a runaway. Its because of the loop hole in Georgia laws and Georgia only


You are 19 and your girlfriend is 16 can she move in with you?

No. She is a child and legally under the control of her parents. You might be charged with harboring a runaway, child rape, etc., depending on the laws for your state.


What is the age the child can leave the home in new york and not be considered a runaway?

It's considered running away if your parents are not aware of your wherabouts. I think if you just wander out the door after about your sixteenth birthday they'll assume you can take care of yourself. I don't think you are actually legally allowed to move out until you are legally an adult though: eighteen. I'm not sure if you are talking about moving out or just wandering off . . . please clarify.


What is the youngest age you can move out of your parents house and not be considered a runaway?

12. Although you have to be in the care of a trusted adult. Preferablly family member.