answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The state does not have established grounds or procedures pertaining to early emancipation of minors. The states legal age statute and pertinent information concerning the legal status of minors can be found at http://www.legis.state.ia.us (Iowa Code Title 6, Subtitle 5,Chapter 232.2).

Update: As of August, 2009, new legislation allowing teens to petition the court for emancipated status is untried and unfamiliar to even most family law attorneys. There is no form yet for filing the action.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-01 22:06:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a minor be emancipated in Iowa?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Where do you get the forms to be emancipated in Iowa?

Answer 1 Iowa does not have statutes for a minor to become emancipated. See this link for more information on emancipation for all states in the United States.


Can minors live alone in Iowa?

No, minors can not live alone in the state of Iowa. The only way a minor can live alone is if the minor has been emancipated.


Can a 15 year old be emancipated in Iowa?

No a 15 year old can not be emancipated in Iowa. A child must be 16 years old in order to be emancipated in Iowa.


What age can a child become an emancipated minor in Iowa?

16 years....But you have to prove that they have a full time job, and not in school......


When can a minor be emancipated?

in Washington state a minor can legally be emancipated at the age of 16


Can an emancipated minor go to jail?

Yes. An emancipated minor is legally an adult.


How do you become emancipated in Iowa?

Sorry, there is no emancipation status in Iowa.


Are you able to get married at 14 or at 15 and legally get emancipated with Parents Consent in the state of Iowa?

No. You cannot get married or emancipated in Iowa at 14/15.


How can a minor get emancipated?

A minor can become emancipated by petitioning the court for it. State laws vary but most states allow minors to be become emancipated at age 16.


Can an emancipated minor own a house?

An emancipated minor is legally an adult. They may own whatever they choose and can afford.


Is a minor automatically emancipated if she is pregnant or already has a child?

No, she is not emancipated automatically.


When a 16 year old does the other parent still have to pay child support in Iowa?

Unless the minor is emancipated by the court or through marriage you have to pay until they are emancipated, usually at 18, but in some states until 21 and they graduate.


Can an emancipated minor have a relationship with an adult?

No, emancipated or not. It's wrong and a crime for the adult.


Can a minor become emancipated in Ohio?

Ohio does not allow a minor to petition the court for emancipation. A minor is automatically emancipated if they marry or join the military, both of which require parental consent.


How does a minor child get emancipated in the state of Maine?

A minor can get emancipated at the age of 16 in the state of Maine. The minor will have to get an attorney to represent them in court and to file paperwork for the judge to hear the case.


Can you get welfare if you are a emancipated minor?

Yes


What is the age to be emancipated in penn?

A minor can be emancipated at the age of 16 and above in the state of Pennsylvania. The minor will have to retain an attorney and file a motion with the courts.


Can an emancipated minor marry an adult with parent consent in California?

An emancipated minor is legally an adult and should not require parental consent for anything.


How do you spell emancipated minor?

That is the correct spelling of the term "emancipated minor" (someone under legal age that is court-afforded the status of an adult).


What is the possibility of a minor actually getting emancipated in the state of Virginia?

Depends on the minor. You have to fill the criteria to be emancipated by the court or it wont happen. You can also get married.


Legal age to rent apartment in Washington state?

The legal age is 18 unless you are an emancipated minor. To become an emancipated minor, you have to fill out a form.


Can a minor have a roommate when they become emancipated?

Why not? A legally emancipated minor has pretty much all the rights of an adult, having a roommate doesn't change anything.


What are the laws in Tioga county about being emancipated?

A minor under the age of 18 can be emancipated upon a showing of maturity and financial independence. Once emancipated, the minor no longer has a right to receive financial support from his or her parents.


What is the legal age that a teenager can move out of their parents house in the state of Georgia with or without parental consent?

16 Years of age is the limit. There are four (4) ways to become emancipated under Georgia law:When a minor is legally married, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor turn 18 years of age, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor is on active duty in the U.S. military, the minor is automatically considered emancipatedA minor can file a petition in the Juvenile Court asking for a court order stating that he or she is emancipated. The parents either must approve or minor must prove it is in best interest to be emancipated.


If a minor gets married are they emancipated?

In the US, and assuming the marriage is legal, then yes, they're emancipated.