answersLogoWhite
Car Buying
Auto Loans and Financing
Portland Oregon

Can you return a new car if you change your mind?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-02-26 16:12:36

No, the 72 hour "cooling off" period does not apply to vehicles. All US states do have lemon laws which may protect the consumer from being stuck with an unsafe/faulty vehicle. A voluntary relinquishment by the borrower (returning the vehicle for whatever reason) is treated in the same manner as a repossession by the lender.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

How long do you have to return a new car in Maryland?

You can only return a new car to be fixed if there is something wrong with it. You cannot return a new car just because you changed your mind. There is no buyers remorse law in Maryland.


Can you return a car to a dealer within 24 hours if you change your mind?

It is nothing more than a myth that you can return any car you buy new, or used. Once you buy the car you own it and you cannot return it. The Buyer's Remorse or Cooling Off Period laws do not apply to the purchase of a vehicle.


Can I return a new car in Maine?

Return a car


How long do you have to change your mind about a new car purchase in SC?

You cannot change your mind about a new car purchase. The dealer may work with you to take it back, but there is usually a restocking fee or a fee of some type that they will charge.


Can you return a new car in sc?

No you can not return a new car in South Carolina.


Can you return a new car in Washington state?

After a car purchase, can I return the car?


In North Carolina how long do you have to change your mind after signing a contract for a new car?

There is no time frame. Once a car is signed for it is now legally bound to the new owner. Unless the written contract specifies a special return clause there is no law stating a car may be returned due to buyers remorse.


How many days do I have to change my mind about a new car purchase?

The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of an automobile. If you buy a car, pay for it, and drive off the lot, it is your car. There is no changing your mind unless the seller agrees to it. Do not like the car then throw yourself at the mercy of the dealer who sold you the car and ask them very nicely to let you return it. If it is a new car, know that is is now a used car and has lost lots of value. If it is a used car the dealer may agree to take it back and sell you another car, but legally they do not have to.


How long do you have to return a used car in va?

Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period Laws do not apply to the purchase of a new or used car in any state. You cannot return any car because you changed your mind. You bought it and you own it.


Can you return a new car that had some scratches?

You can return it to get the scratches repaired. Did you not inspect the car for scratches before you took delivery? You cannot return it for a refund as it is no longer a new car. It is a used car.


Is there any amount of time to return a car to a dealer?

No, Buyers Remorse or Cooling Off Period Laws do not apply to the purchase of a new or used car in any state. You cannot return any car because you changed your mind. You bought it and you own it.


Can you return a new car in New Mexico?

You cannot return a new car unless the dealership or individual allows you to. There is no provision for buyer's remorse.


How many days do you have to change your mind on buying a new car in Florida?

None! Once you purchase the car, sign the papers, and drive it off the lot, it becomes a used car, and it is yours. You cannot return a new car period. There is no cooling off or buyers remorse law that applies to the purchase of any automobile in any state. That law only applies to unsolicited sales.


What do you do if you change your mind for buying a new car in Virginia?

You can't change your mind. You bought it and you own it. Besides it is no longer a new car, it is a used car worth far less then the moment you drove it off the lot. The Buyers Remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle. The only way you could is if the selling dealer was offering such an arrangement.


Can you return a new car in Maine?

No


How many days do you have to return a new car in Texas?

None. No state automatically lets you return a new car just because you changed your mind. A large number of people think they do, but they don't. Look at your sale contract. It will almost certainly say, probably in bold in a special box, that all sales are final and that you don't have any cooling-off period to change your mind. They may have even had you initial it, so you can't later claim that they told you something else.


How do you change the return filter on a 2003 Chevy Silverado?

To change the return filter on a 2003 Chevy Silverado is easy. Simply open the hood of your car and gently remove the filter and replace with new filter. that it!


How long do you have to change your mind after buying a new car in texas?

You can't change your mind. You bought it and you own it. Besides it is no longer a new car, it is a used car worth far less then the moment you drove it off the lot. The Buyers Remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle. The only way you could is if the selling dealer was offering such an arrangement.


Can you return a new car in the state of Florida?

NO, there is no cooling off period on the purchase of any vehicle, new or used, in any state. You cannot return a new car that is used car once you buy it. The only way you can return it is if the dealer agrees to the return which is highly unlikely.


Can i return new car?

It depends on what state your in and your reason for wanting to return it. Some dealers will take a car back in exchange for another if they are a reputable dealer. In the state of Ohio , once you sign the paperwork, you can not return it unless there is a very valid reason other than you changed your mind ( according to the state ).


How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Missouri?

Once you sign the papers, it is your car. You cannot return it unless the dealer agrees to the return.


How long do you have to return a new car in Wichita Kansas?

You cannot return a car just because you have changed your mind. The cooling off period or buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle. It only applies to unsolicited sales. That new car you bought is now a used car which is worth way less than what you just paid. You bought it, and you now own it.


How long do you have to change your mind about purchasing a new car in Colorado once the papers are signed but the transaction is not completed?

You can't change your mind. Once you signed for it, you bought it. Your only chance is if the dealer is willing to take it back.


Can you return a new car after 2 months?

no.


Is there a period of time in Florida when you can return a new car?

No there is not a period of time in Florida when you can return a new car. A car may be returned if it has a major mechanical defect under the Lemon law.