Kosovo, also known as The Republic of Kosovo, is a state in the Balkan Peninsula. Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia on February 17, 2008, but wasn't officially recognized by the United Nations until September, 26 2013. However, Kosovo is still not recognized as a state by countries like Spain, Greece, Romania, and Slovakia.