Beef and Veal

How is beef graded?

User Avatar
Wiki User
March 27, 2012 7:58PM

There are 8 beef quality grades based on 2 main criteria: the degree of marbling and the age of the animal being processed.

The 8 grades are:

  • U.S. Prime
  • U.S. Choice
  • U.S. Select
  • U.S. Standard
  • U.S. Commercial
  • U.S. Utility
  • U.S. Cutter
  • U.S. Canner

Please see related link below!