Funny enough I went through this same scenario - as well, I am an insurance broker. I was broad-sided by a driver who BEGGED me to leave the scene and pay out of pocket for my minimal damage. I agreed and the next day he called and told me that he was filing a claim instead!! The reason why he did this was to evade being arrested, being that he was DRUNK come to find out later!!! NEVER agree to settle without written agreement or police witness!! You may file within 30 days depending on where you are . I'm in Canada but the 30 day rule is fairly commonplace.
It is never a good idea to drive without insurance as there are costly penalties if one is caught or involved in an accident. If one is in an accident without auto insurance, their options are limited but they may be able to sue the other driver if they are at fault.
Yes, it is illegal to drive without insurance or without having sufficient insurance in Arizona. You will have 30 days to provide proof of insurance following an accident.
yes you can with or without it
In California, the law is, if you in fact have an accident in California without insurance, and the dmv finds out about it, your license will be suspended for 1 year.
Yes, if they have insurance and get into an accident, then their insurance will cover them. If they do not have insurance, then your insurance will cover them but your premiums may go up.
Get a really good lawyer:)
If you're dead.... Why does it matter?
If someone without a valid drivers license and without car insurance drives a car that is covered by car insurance, does that insurance pay for that uninsured driver if they have a accident?
Yes! You sure can! You have already broken the law to drive without insurance. . . They by YOU yourself causing the accident, you are definitely liable for license removal. --Feefhh:myspace.com/feefhh
If you are covered by an "Active" auto insurance policy then you will be covered, whether or not you have an active drivers license.
Just file a claim with the other parties insurance company. You called the police and got an accident report, right?
Yes you can. You may still receive a citation for not having insurance, however, the legal liability for the accident does not rest with you so the adverse party's insurance carrier will owe for your damages and/or injuries.
If you mean file a claim with your insurance, yes.
Yes, if there is an accident.
Sure. People can claim anything. The question is will your insurance pay the claim. Without a police report of the accident, you may be in for a lawsuit. Never ever, have an accident and fail to call the police.
Your mom could loose everything by being sued by the other drivers insurance company. Because you are unlicensed and took the car without permission her insurance company will not cover the accident and you are likely to get a ticket.
I do not have a particular website to answer your question. I do know, however, that if you drive with no auto insurance it is against the law. Also, if you do get in an accident you are not covered for your injuries. Also, if the accident is your fault, you can get a hefty lawsuit served in your name. Keep shopping for cheaper insurance. Do not drive without auto insurance.
You buy rental car insurance so if you are in an accident your insurance will pay for part or all of rental car expenses if a rental car is needed. Without this insurance this will be out of pocket for you.
They can sue you. If you have no money in the bank or no assets (a home, vehicle, valuables), then it won't do the other person any good. It will be nearly impossible to get insurance now that you have an accident on your record without coverage (big no no). In the mean time, hopefully the other person has insurance to cover themselves against people who are uninsured in an accident.
The custodial parent.
depends on the insurance company
title has no effect. insurance takes precedent.
Yes. You can even get insurance without a license. However, if you get into an accident and you're found driving alone on a permit, or you're found driving without a license, it will void your policy.
If you have collision coverage on your vehicle you can collect from your insurance company for the damages. You will not have to pay the deductible if you were determined by the insurance company to not be at fault for the accident. They then go after the other insurance company to get the money they paid you back. If you do not carry collision coverage then you need to file with other insurance company, they will then decide who was at fault for the accident if their party was at fault they then pay you for the damages to your vehicle.