Simple possession of drug paraphernalia is a Class C Misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of fines up to $500. Distribution or possession with intent to distribute or sell drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in up to a year in jail. Second offense penalties will result in mandatory jail time, or if you sell to someone under 18 years old.
Here's what I got from the state: A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally uses or possesses with intent to use drug paraphernalia. A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally delivers, possesses with intent to deliver, or manufactures with intent to deliver drug. An offense for possession of drug paraphernalia is a Class C misdemeanor an offense for delivery of drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor if the defendant has no paraphernalia convictions. There are numerous provisions that allow the state to enhance the punishment ranges for possession of drug paraphernalia and subsequent charges can greatly enhance the ranges of punishments. Once convicted you may be given deferred adjudication: You will have a criminal record! You can get it sealed by petition the same court with or without an attorney. Of course the non attorney route is the lease expensive.
Possession of WHAT?
Yes, it is a misdemeanor offense.
Examples of a misdemeanor offense that might make you ineligible to own a gun include domestic violence and possession of an illegal drug conviction. If you have an unserved warranty on you, you may not be able to get a gun in certain states.
Pursuant to R.S. 40:1025 A, a first offense is punishable by up to six months in prison and a $500 fine. It is a misdemeanor under Louisiana law.
A misdemeanor offense can be punished by NOT MORE than one year in jail.
Sometimes. Each state defines crimes individually. Often, a first offense possession of less than an ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor, while possession of more or possession with intent to distribute is a felony.
A 'misdemeanor" offense is one in which the legislature sets the maximum penalty as not more than one year in jail, or less.
Usually, unless the quantity of drugs is sufficient to raise the offense to the level of a felony.
First offense- misdemeanor. No jail time. Max $500. Second offense. Max 1year jailtime. Max $1000
A possession offense is usually being charged of possessing something illegal in the country you are being charged such as drugs, or paraphernalia (property/images etc...) depending on what the possession is and the amount of what ever it is you are charged with possessing it can be a minor or a federal offense. Possession with intent to distribute can in some places earn you a life sentence or a sentence of death (ex: Thailand).
Yes to both first offense misdemeanor 0 to 6 months second offense felony 0 to 5 years third offense 5 to 20 years also a felony
Under federal law you cannot own a gun for any conviction of a domestic offense, even if that offense is a misdemeanor.
A misdemeanor offense will always remain a misdemeanor offense regardless of how many individual misdemeanor offenses you may commit. If you live in a state that has a "3-strikes-and-you're-out" law - after the conviction of your 3rd misdemeanor any subsequent crime after that could be prosecuted as a felony under the "3-strikes" law.
in Virginia, a first offense for possession of marijuana is an unclassified misdemeanor with a maximum 30 day jail sentence. A subsequent conviction for marijuana then becomes a class 1 misdemeanor and a class 1 misdeameanor carries up to 10 years in prison; fines of up to $2,500 they hurt you.
Adult crimnal history records are permanent unless court action is taken to remove them.
Not knowing the nature of the offense or the state in which it occurred a specific answer is not possible. In all states most juvenile adjudications (including minor in possession) remain confidential and are sealed when said person reaches the state's legal age of majority. In California, if you are convicted of an infraction for minor in possession, rather than a misdemeanor, it never makes it onto your "record" in the first place.
In the State of Rhode Island, a minor in possession of alcohol is guilty of a misdemeanor. The penalty is a fine and possible jail time.
It IS possible that it is a clerical error. Go to the court in which you were convicted. At the Clerk of Court's office and ask to see your court file. The final disposition of your case (felony or misdemeanor) will appear there. If you find that the background record is incorrect, ask the personnel at that office how to go about getting it corrected.
If you meet the criteria, there should not be a problem for an offense this minor. See below link: