How many emperors did the roman empire have?

From Augustus (the first emperor) to the division of the Empire into Eastern and Western Empires in A.D. 395 there were 147 Roman Emperors, including 7 ruling the rebel Gallic empire and 2 leading the rebel British empire in defiance of central authority.

After A.D.395 the Western Empire lasted until A.D476 under 23 emperors.

The Eastern Empire lasted from A.D.395 to A.D.1453 under 94 emperors.

From this you can see that the number of Roman emperors will be 147 if you count only the rulers of the United Roman Empire, or 9 fewer excluding rebel emperors, and many more if the Divided Empire totals of 23 and 94 more emperors are included.