It depends on your lease. If you don't have a lease, the rent can be raised at any time by any amount. If you do have a lease, check the lease. If their are limits raising the rent in the lease, then you can bring that to your landlord's attention. If they raise your rate more than what's in the lease, then you can sue them in order to get them to comply with the lease. If there are no limits identified in the lease, then the rent can be raised at any time by any amount.
Landlord, but probably only once a year. The landlord should have a tech check the filters.
I'm not sure about Connecticut law, but I don't know of a state that has a limit on how much the rent can be raised. The landlord has to give proper notice - which would be one full rental period - so the tenant has time to leave if they don't want to pay the new rent. But, once they've done that, they can raise the rent as much as they want.
For the purposes of answering this question, I presume that the tenant is a rental tenant and that the Landlord is under foreclosure. Tenant must continue to pay the rent to the landlord as long as they have control over the property. The Foreclosing company, once it takes over, must give the tenant specific instructions on to whom and where to pay their rent.
Once a landlord has received money from the renter or once the tenant has established residency by receiving mail or having items in the home that tend to show permanence.
Once a lease is mutually agreed upon (signed by both sides) it generally must be honored. But if the landlord asked the potential new tenant if he has a criminal record, that tenant denies such, and it is found out later that he has one, yes: the landlord can terminate the lease for fraud.
Once you, the landlord, have accepted a tenant by handing him the keys, then the tenant has legal possession of the property. If the lease was mutually signed and the keys were handed to the tenant, then you must wait until the lease expires and give at least 30 days notice that you will not renew the lease before asking the tenant to leave. Landlord and tenant laws are designed to protect both the landlord and the tenant. If the tenant does not violate the terms of the lease once it has been mutually signed and the property turned over to the tenant, then he has the legal right - as long as he pays his rent on time - to remain on the property. If he violates the terms of the lease at any time, you can seek legal remedy to correct the violations or to remove the tenant.
No, at least not in Canada. According to the Tenant Protection Act, once the area has been rented the ongoings of that area can no longer be controled by the landlord.
under no circumstances. it is better to write void on the previous lease if it is not signed by the tenant. ONCE signed by the tenant, there is a legal contract in place.
Every state is different about this: normally, once the tenant has moved out of the property, anything left behind becomes the property of landlord. If tenant was evicted and was forced to move out by the Sheriff's office/Constable, then, there are rules regarding the belongings left behind by the tenant. In South Carolina, for example, you must move all of the tenant's belongings onto the curb near the street, where the tenant would have easy access to remove the belongings once the landlord has taken possession. In some states, the landlord may be required to store the belongings, generally for up to 30 days, or the landlord may automatically be entitled to the belongings.
In Arizona, a landlord can ask for a security deposit equal to one and a half months rent. Once the tenant vacates the property, the landlord has 14 days to return the deposit. If any part of the deposit is kept, an itemized list must be included.
The answer to your question depends on your state's laws. To avoid costly legal claims initiated by your former tenant, I highly recommend that you contact a landlord-tenant law attorney in your area. A landlord's advocacy group could also tell you what your local laws are on storage of abandoned property.
Generally none. If the tenant continues in possession once the lease term has expired he would be deemed a tenant at will, or a month-to-month tenant (if the rent is paid monthly) or a week-to-week tenant (if the rent is paid weekly). The frequency of rent payments determines whether the tenant is month to month or week to week, and also the notice the landlord must give before requiring the tenant to move. If its month to month the landlord must generally give one weeks notice to quit if he wants the tenants out. If you would feel more secure with a lease you might have to move. Many people never sign a lease after the first one expires and continue on a month to month basis.
The tenant application is a process of elimination for landlords. The tenant application varies, depending on how stringent the landlord wishes to be. The laws governing what a landlord can ask the tenant on an application vary from state to state, but there are some standard questions allowed on a tenant application.Basic QuestionsAll landlords will request that a potential tenant fill out an application. The application will consist of some basic questions which are allowed by law. The questions include the name, address, place of employment, bank account information and references. These questions are normal and fair under the law.Extensive QuestionsA tenant application might ask other questions such as whether the potential tenant has ever been convicted of a crime, whether or not the tenant has ever been late on rent payments with their current landlord and if they can contact the current landlord for more information on the tenant. The landlord may also legally ask the potential tenant to sign a release form so they can do a credit check and another one to do a background check. The potential tenant will be required to pay an application fee to cover the cost for the checks. The amount of the fee varies depending on the company the landlord hires to perform the checks.Security DepositTenants might be asked to give a partial security deposit when placing the tenant application. This is not a requirement by law and is highly discouraged. Once the landlord has a partial deposit, he or she could take a great deal of time returning the money if the tenant changes his or her mind. Some landlords will even attempt to keep the deposit and state that a contract was made when the deposit was placed. It is highly recommended to wait to place any deposit on the rental until approval is gained and the lease agreement is signed. It pays to be honest on the tenant application. Lying on the application will result in immediate denial from the landlord. A prior conviction or slightly bad credit report will not always be cause for dismissal of the application. Potential tenants have the right to protect themselves from unfair and unlawful tenant applications. Check state and local laws to ensure the tenant application is a lawful one. A landlord will do whatever he or she can to protect themselves and tenants should do the same.
If the tenant has abandoned the property, moved and legally ended their tenancy, if the landlord owns the mailbox, he may return the mail to the post office UNOPENED. The landlord may NOT open or keep the mail. That is the recipient's property by Federal Postal Regulations. Once the tenant has legally vacated the property, the landlord has a right to the mailbox container, its security and use. The landlord, as the owner of the property does have the right to tell the post office the recipient may no longer receive the mail, HOWEVER, he must not destroy the mail or complete a forwarding order, etc.
Please be aware that a motel situation is not a landlord/tenant situation. Those who stay in motels and hotels are under a different law in California and basically all 50 states which cover innkeeper rules as opposed to landlord rules. One hallmark rule for innkeepers is that they have the right to instantly evict a tenant: no judicial action is necessary. The landlord for a motel is considered an innkeeper, and the tenant is called a guest. That being said, here is the answer to your question: innkeepers are not required to sign any type of rental assistance agreements. This is because once again, innkeepers are not landlords, and do not have the same requirements that landlords have, such as in most states landlords are required to comply with a tenant's request for him to fill out paperwork for public assistance, and may not discriminate the tenant accordingly.
I would think that once a tenant has left the property , he doesn't have the right to come into the property and avail himself of anything. If he does, and the landlord issues him a trespass warning,
The landlord must first obtain a judgment against the tenant. I highly recommend small claims court--it is fast, easy, inexpensive, and no lawyer or legal experience is required. The small claims jurisdictional limit in WA is $4,000. Once you receive a judgment, file the judgment in superior court. This places a lien on all real estate owned by the defendant tenant. You may also proceed to garnishment, executions, and supplemental proceedings. Note that attorneys' fees and court costs can be recovered after you get the judgment. If the debt exceeds $4,000, see a landlord/tenant attorney. **Landlord Solutions provides free consultations, 866-TO-EVICT.**
It's quite simple: once the lease is mutually signed, something that is normally done after a security deposit has been paid, then the tenant is considered to have legal custody of the property or dwelling. If at that point the tenant does not move in, the security deposit can be kept. This is because the apartment has been rented out and if at the last minute the tenant decides not to move in, then the landlord has to try to rent out the apartment, which may remain vacant until this happens. It should also be noted that the tenant would also be responsible for any rent of the apartment while the apartment is still vacant and up to the remainder of the lease term.
He can't enter the apartment without permission. Once the tenant lets him in the apartment, I suppose he can go into any room, without asking. Surely the tenants have the right to tell him not to go into certain room. This might be a question of whether they did.
Paying the judgment will help, but you will have to wait 7 years for the judgment to fall off your credit. Once the judgment is paid, it will show other landlords that you will fulfill your obligations, regardless of the stain on your credit.
It means that if you don't pay the rent your landlord can execute you!! Just kidding. Execution, in any term, means the carrying out of a legal order. A lease, once it has been created, prepared, and signed by both parties, has been executed once the keys are issued to the tenant.
once he has recived payment
This would probably be a weekly tenancy due to the short notice. Most notices require 30 to 60 days notice to terminate a tenancy, depending on the jurisdiction. A legal eviction requires the landlord to document failure to pay rent, or an ongoing lateness in payment of rent by the tenant. He would then apply to the court for a motion to pay rent or quit. Once the documents are signed, they must be delivered to the tenant, or posted on the door of the tenant's domicile. If this provokes no response; the landlord may then file for a notice of eviction.
The last day of the lease.
Let's clarify what is personal property: any property that you own that is not real estate property, such as your personal belongings, car, pets, etc.; now, in the Landlord/Tenant court, your landlord may keep or put out your personal property to the curb once he evicts you from the unit, depending on the state you live in, and whether you owe him back rent.