How old should you be to own a gun?

Federal law requires one to be 21 years old to purchase handguns from an FFL (licensed dealer) and 18 for the purchase of long guns. Federal law and most states allow 18 to 21 year olds to purchase handguns from individuals (but not dealers). A few states require all gun sales to be through licensed dealers.

In Texas parents can decide what age their child should be to own a gun as per Texas Penal Code.