answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

To become a licensed car dealer the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles requires a dealer applicant to take a six hour preparation class to become a licensed car dealer. There are 2 main types of dealers, retail or wholesale. Retail Dealers have more restrictions as liability which required more dealer insurance as well as a larger dealer bond, but retail dealer are the only dealers allowed to sell to the public. Wholesale dealers may only sell to other dealers. The applicant must take the class and pass a 40 question test, then submit an application and a bond, then submit photos and pass an on-site inspection. Upon review the DMV inspector will review the dealer's application and then approve the tempory license. Often the largest struggle for those attempting to start a retail dealership is the zoning for the city or county to allow a dealership at the choosen location. Make sure that the location you choose is zoned properly and/or will be an acceptable location for a retail dealership. Rarely do wholesale dealerships struggle getting proper zoning permission from the government. Once a would be dealer passes the test they must prepare for DMV approval from the inspector. To prepare the following tasks must be done. The applicant must produce 11 photos 1)building 2)outside sign 3)display area 4)office 5)business license 6)resale permit 7)telephone 8)inside signs 9)locked cabinet 10)checkbook 11)dmv dealer book Then the applicant must submit: zoning approval letter, OL902 certificate of class completion, TSM888 business license resale permit ficticious name statement telephone listing livescan fingerprint card personal history questionaire completed dmv dealer application bond in the name of the owner / dealership. Temporary license can be granted within 30 days permanent license can be granted within 120 days. TriStar Motors LLC - CA DMV approved Dealer education provider teaching in 17 cities statewide. 800-901-5950 or online at http://www.gotplates.com Reference http://www.dmv.ca.gov, http://www.howtobecomeacardealer.com New Dealer Checklist

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-10-02 19:47:41
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How to Become a Car Dealer in California?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How do you Become a Wholesale Car Dealer in Maryland?

The best way to become a wholesale car dealer in Maryland is to apply. You should apply to the dealer that makes it easiest for you, based on your circumstances.


If you buy a new car in Nevada from a car dealer and move to California do I have to pay sales tax to California?

yes you do


Can a dealer sell a car to someone in California with an expired drivers license?

Yes, a dealer can sell a car to someone with an expired license. A dealer can sell a car to someone who doesn't have a license at all.


Can a dealer sell a car without a pink slip in California?

no


How you can get a wholesale car auction in ca?

Become a dealer.


Do you have three days to return a car in Illinois?

There are NO RETURNS! There is no federal law requiring a car dealer or a person selling a car to take a car back. The only exceptions are where the dealer voluntarily offers to take a car back or certain transactions in California that are covered by the California Car Buyers Bill of Rights.


Where is the Riverside Infiniti car dealer located?

The Riverside Infiniti car dealer is U.S. car dealership. It is located at 3040 Adams Street, Riverside, California. This is in the southern area of the state.


Can you return a car in SC after so many days after you bought it?

There are NO RETURNS! There is no federal law requiring a car dealer or a person selling a car to take a car back. The only exceptions are where the dealer voluntarily offers to take a car back or certain transactions in California that are covered by the California Car Buyers Bill of Rights.


Can you return a used car back to the dealership?

There are NO RETURNS! There is no federal law requiring a car dealer or a person selling a car to take a car back. The only exceptions are where the dealer voluntarily offers to take a car back or certain transactions in California that are covered by the California Car Buyers Bill of Rights.


What are some used car dealers in Fresno CA?

The most reliable used car dealer in Fresno is CARX. They are also considered one of the most trustworthy used car dealer in that area of California, USA.


Can a dealer stop you from registering your car?

Yes it's a courtesy VLT...at least in California


How do you become a car dealer?

You study it and you have to explore about the things involved with all of that and then you will be ready!


Is it possible to back out from a car contract once you signed it but didn't take the car off the dealer parking lot in California?

Not likely if you signed the contract.


How do you get a car salesperson license?

AnswerAll states have dealer licensing requirements in addition to tax and business licensing. If you are looking to start a dealership or become a wholesale dealer contact your secretary of state or DMV. In most states to be a salesperson for a dealer you do not need a license. In some sates like California you do however, check with you secretary of state or DMV.


What does it cost to replace all of the shock absorbers on a ford ranger?

$550 in 2004 from a car dealer in Fresno, California.


Is there a dealer in Amador County, California?

http://www.uhaul.com/.. Uhaul is a dealer in Amador County, California


Buy car in California from use car dealer will register in Nevada where do you pay sale tax?

I almost positive that it's California, my father tried to buy a car in Oregon to save on sales tax but he still had to pay Washington sales tax on it.


If the car dealer lies to you?

can a car dealer promise to make repairs and not do it


Can you buy a car from a dealer and resell to another dealer?

yes you can. a vehicle can go to any car dealer. no restrictions


What does part exchange mean in car dealer ship?

It means that the dealer might accept your car as a part of payment but of course the dealer and you have to agree on a price for your car.


Your new car was dented by the dealer when taken in to get an alarm installed 2 days after factory purchas. Can you get a new car exchange if the dealer put a dent in your car?

If a dealer dented your new car, you are not eligible for a new car. The dealer is responsible for fixing the dent only.


Is it relevant for the car dealer to ask how much is owing on your trade in?

Of course it is. The dealer taking the trade would become responsible for loans and liens on the car once ownership has been transferred. If the remaining money owing on the trade is not paid he could lose the car to the lender.


What year did you have to go through a dealer to purchase a long gun in California?

California does not require that you "go thru a dealer". However, IF you are buying a gun from outside the State of California, it must come to a dealer in California. That has been Federal law since 1968.


How do you get a wholesale car dealer's license in NJ?

How do you get a wholesale car dealer's license in NJ?


How do you get a car dealer license in Philadelphia Pennsylvania?

How to get a car dealer lisence in philadelphia pa

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide