answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

States vary on the requirement of separation prior to divorce. A lot depends on the type of divorce being sought. The bigger question is whether moving to another state can expedite a divorce. New Jersey, for example, is among a number of states that require one year's residency prior to being able to file. Alaska only requires 30 days. Washington and South Dakota have no set residency requirement, but both have waiting times, depending on the action upon which the complaint is filed. Florida has a six month residency requirement but no waiting period or separation requirement.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-10-23 01:53:22
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If North Carolina requires a separation of 1 year and a day before divorce papers can be filed can you get a divorce more quickly by moving to another state?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If you were married in North Carolina but wanted a divorce and your legal residency is in Michigan would you be able to get a divorce through Michigan to not need a years separation that NC requires?

The filing of any divorce requires residency, not where you were married.


How long do you have to be separated before you can file for divorce in North Carolina?

For a no-fault divorce, the required separation period is one year.


Can you file for a legal separation in South Carolina?

The state of South Carolina does not recognize legal separation before or during a divorce process. Questions should be addressed to a competent lawyer.


How long after separation can you get a divorce in Barbados?

You can apply for divorce in Barbados after one year of separation.


What should you do if your boyfriend kissed another girl while you are separted?

Nothing, but you can choose to divorce them. Separation sometimes allows you to see other people and after awhile after the separation you can choose to stay together or divorce


Do you have to wait a year before divorcing in North Carolina?

In NC, for a no-fault divorce, there is a required one-year separation period.


What has the author Michael H McGee written?

Michael H. McGee has written: 'Separation and divorce in North Carolina' -- subject(s): Divorce, Law and legislation


What is the cost difference between divorce and separation?

Divorce costs the man everything he has. Separation costs more.


Can you divorce someone in the US if you were married in another country?

Yes, your divorce should be where you live at the time of your separation, or where the children reside. If you live in the US, the divorce needs to be in the US to be enforceable.


I have a Legal separation now I want a divorce?

Legal separation is to the same thing as divorce and is not always a prerequisite to a obtaining a dissolution of marriage (i.e. divorce). Although many of the issues (such as alimony, child support, etc) that would traditionally be dealt with in a divorce were done in your legal separation, you still need to go through the divorce process, starting with filing for divorce. At no point, no matter how long you have been separated, will a legal separation turn into a divorce.


If live in South Carolina can you file for divorce in Georgia?

Why not at south carolina? As you are living in south carolina,it will be better for you to file divorce at carolina. The answer is no. You will have to file for your divorce in South Carolina but you have to have resided in South Carolina for at least one year.


Can the alienation of affection be filed while filing separation or divorce or should be filed after separation or divorce?

In some states Alienation is a grounds for divorce. It should be stated on the petition for divorce if your state requires a compelling reason to ask for divorce. If you happen to live in a no fault state, the issue of alienation is moot. In a no fault state you do not need a reason to get a divorce. In that case, your "reason" is not a consideration (legally that is). Make sure you find out if your state is no fault so that you will know how to proceed.


How long can your be separated before it mean your divorced?

There is no length of time that a separation turns into a divorce. You are legally married until you obtain a divorce through the courts.There is no length of time that a separation turns into a divorce. You are legally married until you obtain a divorce through the courts.There is no length of time that a separation turns into a divorce. You are legally married until you obtain a divorce through the courts.There is no length of time that a separation turns into a divorce. You are legally married until you obtain a divorce through the courts.


If both people agree that the marriage cannot be fixed can you divorce before the one year separation in North Carolina?

I do not believe that you can. It has to be a mandatory 1 year before you can get officially divorced in NC. Even if the divorce is uncontested.


Can a person marry in another state if the 6 month waiting period not fulfilled?

No. If your divorce requires that you wait six months under your state law you cannot circumvent the law by moving to another state.No. If your divorce requires that you wait six months under your state law you cannot circumvent the law by moving to another state.No. If your divorce requires that you wait six months under your state law you cannot circumvent the law by moving to another state.No. If your divorce requires that you wait six months under your state law you cannot circumvent the law by moving to another state.


After your legal separation is there any way that you can get married again to another man?

no you may not marry until the divorce is final


Do you have to remain single during separation awaiting divorce?

no


Is it faster to get a legal separation than a divorce?

Yes, you can file for a legal separation and have it right away, but you will still be legally married until the divorce is final.


Is there a mandatory separation time after filing for divorce in CO?

No. There is no mandatory separation time in Colorado.


Can you divorce your wife if she left you?

yes but if she doesnt want the divorce then you can just file for separation.


How early can you marry again after six months of separation?

It's not the separation - it's the official divorce papers that allow you to marry again. You have to divorce if you want to remarry.


How do you file for at divorce?

You file for divorce by filing for separation first. Then, after a set amount of time that varies by the state, you can file for divorce or serve divorce papers.


Can you marry in another state if the state in which you divorce has a 6 month waiting period before remarriage?

No, all states honor the laws of other states pertaining to marriage, divorce and legal separation.


Statute of limitations for separation?

Each state has a different statute of limitations for separation for a divorce. In New York state you must be separated for one year before a divorce.


Can a divorced spouse withdraw from a 401A plan?

That matter should be addressed in the separation agreement that was incorporated into the divorce decree. You should review the decree and consult with the attorney who represented you in the divorce.That matter should be addressed in the separation agreement that was incorporated into the divorce decree. You should review the decree and consult with the attorney who represented you in the divorce.That matter should be addressed in the separation agreement that was incorporated into the divorce decree. You should review the decree and consult with the attorney who represented you in the divorce.That matter should be addressed in the separation agreement that was incorporated into the divorce decree. You should review the decree and consult with the attorney who represented you in the divorce.

People also asked

If both people agree that the marriage cannot be fixed can you divorce before the one year separation in North Carolina?

View results