Best Answer

Sounds like you should contact a local attorney for state specific advice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-16 19:20:48
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: If you returned a car to the dealer because it had a lien and the previous owner took it from him what can you do to keep her from reselling it?
Write your answer...

Related Questions

Will my downpayment be returned if i returned my car to the dealer within 3 months?

Not unless there is some very special language in your purchase contract.

In backjack in a tie does the dealer get the money?

No, in this case it is a push and all bets are returned.

What should be returned to the manufacturer or dealer to be recycled?

Laser printer tone cartridges

Car purchased used -- previous owner could have made an additional key. Vehicle is NOT secure from access by previous owner and I need to change the cars compute code. HOW?

If this can be done to your car only the dealer can do it. The cost will vary from dealer to dealer and manufacturer to manufacturer. You will have to call the dealer and ask.

Can a new car be returned to the dealer if the dealer cannot deliver contracted upgrades to the car?

The car should have never left the lot until the upgrades were completed. But yes, in this case, the car should be returned, and you should get all your money back.

How do you reset code for Nissan almera 2004 radio?

If it's the theft prevention code that's locked in then only a dealer can unlock it. Some cars have this code to prevent a thief from stealing them and reselling them on the markets.

How do you lubricate electronic power steering in a Chevrolet Cobalt 2007?

You don't, you take it to the dealer if you have a problem with it. That car has a recall because it has had a lot of previous problems. The power steering is bad.

Can a vehicle be returned to a dealer within 30 days of purchase?

That will depend on the state and local laws, the purchase agreement, and the dealer itself.That will depend on the state and local laws, the purchase agreement, and the dealer itself.

Can you buy unused old model cars from dealers?

Sometimes a dealer will still have unused cars from previous years, but a person generally will have to inquire from each dealer individually.

How do environmentalists dispose of batteries?

Button batteries are to be returned to the original dealer or recycled. They may be a recycling center near you.

How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Oregon?

Once a car is purchased you can not return it to the dealer in Oregon. However if the car has serious mechanical defects it may be returned under the Lemon Law

Do you have to pay damage on a loaner from the dealer?

Yup ... your insurance should cover the damages. The dealer lent you a car in good faith stipulating that the vehicle is returned on the date and time agreed and in the same condition.

Can a car be returned to a used car garage the day after it was brought beause I no longer want it?

Yes. Talk to the seller/dealer.

Can you return a car in ct after buying it?

There is no LAW that allows this.There may be reasons a car can be returned including the Dealer being unable to provide Financing as ppromised or a Negotiated return.BUTThe dealer does not HAVE to take it back under law.

You were notified the loan was not approved and you needed to return the car you never returned the car or had it registered in your name and it was never repossessed how do you get rid of it?

Return it to the dealer.

If the dealer has changed the terms of a loan after 5 days can the car be returned?

Yes. If the dealer is trying to change the terms of the sale, then the sale is not final and you should be able to get out of the deal. Find out what car dealers don't want you to know at

When buying a new car what tire size should you choose?

Ask a dealer, email the maker or contact the previous owner (if there is one).

Can a used car be returned to the dealer within three days of purchase in Utah?

No, the buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.

In New Mexico can you return a used car the day after you bought it?

A used car can be returned the day after it is purchased in New Mexico if the dealer offers this advantage. Lemon Laws exist in New Mexico and a defective car can be returned the day after it is purchased with no problems.

What do you do when a dealer sends you a clean title to a car you didn't pay for?

I would contact the dealer because it could be a mistake

Where can you sell a 1796 large copper penny?

You can sell such a coin to a coin dealer or a collector. Dealers buy coins for as little as they can with the intent of reselling them at a profit whereas a collector buys them to keep in a collection for maybe years at a time. With that in mind you may get a better price if you sell to a collector.

Can you transfer a vehicle after the death of the owner in NC?

That would be determined in the settling of the estate. As part of the settlement, the vehicle will be sold, given to the appropriate person or returned to the dealer.

If you buy a car from a dealer that had been reported stolen can you keep the car?

Yes, because the dealer sold it to you its rightfully yours.

Where can you get a Club Car 1550 xrt utility vehicle wiring diagram?

You should contact your local dealer. Visit and select Dealer Locator in the upper right. Enter your zip code, choose XRT Utility and the 3 dealers closest to you will be returned.

Does a 1987 Chevy Cavalier have airbags?

The 1987 Chevy Cavalier has airbags. Many of these were recalled due to an airbag defect. When returned to the dealer, the air bag sensors had to be reset.